Reviews & Giveaway: Choffy, Brad’s Raw Chips, Krill Oil by Everest Nutrition and the Nourished App

Since we began Paleo Parents, we’ve been increasingly and routinely asked to review books and products by people in and adjacent to the paleo community. At this point, we get so many we are unable to actually do the reviews of the products in a timely manner! That’s why we recruited the Paleo Parents Review Team to fill in the gaps. 

This week, we have Kari reviewing Choffy, Brad’s Raw Chips, Krill Oil by Viva Labs and the iOS app Nourished. Stay tuned to the end of the post for a giveaway of all these products!

♥♥♥

I had the pleasure of reviewing so many wonderful things this month!

First up, Choffy! My first thought was, “Hmmm, Choffy? Sounds like chocolate coffee?  What is it?”  It’s best explained on the back of their bags:

“Choffy is a rich and delicious brewed chocolate drink made from premium roasted and ground cocão (cocoa).  Choffy contains no sugar, dairy, gluten, or chemicals.  So not only does Choffy taste great, it’s really good for you.”  

ChoffyReview2

I was lucky enough to try all three varieties of Choffy – Ivory Coast, IC Dark, and La Española. The preferred method of brewing Choffy is in a French Press: add 2 tablespoons per 6 ounces of water, stir and let steep for 5 minutes, stir again, and press. Since I did not own a French Press at the time, I tried the coffee maker instructions (same measurements). I first tried the Ivory Coast. The taste was great but the beverage seemed watered down.

After my first cup of Choffy, I decided to buy a French Press to see if there was a difference in flavor or thickness. When the French Press arrived I brewed the Ivory Coast again. Wow, what a difference! The Choffy’s consistency was thicker, closer to coffee, and the flavor was excellent! It reminded me of a less bitter hot cocoa made with water. I tried both the IC Dark and the La Española next. The La Española has a great nutty taste with a smoother finish on the tongue.  But woah, the IC Dark is like the original Ivory Coast but turned up a notch! It is smooth and rich and tasty! It felt a lot more substantial on the tongue.

Sadly, the contents of the IC Dark bag disappeared quickly. On what I thought was my last brew, I realized I didn’t have enough to make a full batch. I mixed the IC Dark with the original Ivory Coast and realized I had made a wonderful creation! Mixing the IC and IC Dark, for me, is a little taste of heaven. The consistency is thinner than IC Dark alone and the taste is slightly earthy with a great aftertaste.

So, why try Choffy?

1)  It’s delicious!

2)  It’s full of antioxidants! “There are more antioxidants in an 8oz. cup of Choffy than almost two servings of blueberries!”

3)  It contains the stimulant Theobromine: “Theobromine provides you with a healthy, heart-friendly, non-addictive energy lift without the crash or jitters of caffeine.”

Choffy is not only delicious; it definitely made me feel perkier!  Much perkier than when I drink coffee!

ChoffyReview1

Brad’s Raw Chips

Brad’s Raw Chips are flavored chips made from a mixture of veggies, flax, and buckwheat groats ,which is then dehydrated to make a crispy and crunchy snack. I tried 4 flavors: Red Bell Pepper, Cheddar, Sweet Potato, and Sun Dried Tomato. The Cheddar flavor contained a chickpea miso which made it Paleo unfriendly but the other flavors I tried were completely Paleo friendly. They have many flavors but some of them contain the chickpea miso so make sure you peruse the ingredient list before you give them a taste.

Brad'sRawChips1

The Sweet Potato flavor was my absolute favorite! It was a delightfully sweet, crispy dessert! I ate the entire bag in one sitting (by accident but it wasn’t difficult)! The Sun Dried Tomato was a close second place for me. The chip has whole flax seeds which makes it substantial enough to use for dipping. The chip had a hint of sweet that only a tomato can provide. The Red Bell Pepper is great too; it really tasted like a red pepper!

Brad'sRawChips2

I cannot wait to try some other flavors. I’m so happy to find a grab-and-go snack that I don’t have to make!

Krill Oil by Viva Labs

Ever since I started my real food journey in January of 2012, I have been taking a fermented cod liver oil (FCLO) capsule to help add more Omega 3 fatty acids to my diet. At the end of April, I began giving Viva Lab’s Krill Oil a try.

“Viva Lab’s Krill Oil is extracted from Krill living deep within the waters surrounding the Antarctic. Krill are very small, shrimp-like crustaceans found in open seas throughout the world. Research from the scientific and medical communities confirms the incredible effects this oil can have in promoting heart and joint health, lowered cholesterol, improved moods and comfort during menstruation.”

KrillOilReview1

Following the instructions on the side of the bottle, I took two capsules after breakfast every day for the past month. I noticed that I did not experience any fishy aftertaste like I sometimes did with the FCLO. I also noticed that during my latest cycle I did not have as many or as intense cramps as I use to have. I feel like I have been forgetting less than normal (maybe it’s all in my head…). I am famous for walking into a room and asking, “what did I come in here for?”  That has occurred less and less over the past month. I believe I will keep giving the Krill Oil a go and see what else improves!

Nourished App

The Nourished App is a grain-free recipe app for Apple iOS devices. The app contains a collection of recipes from bloggers George Bryant (Civilized Caveman Cooking Creations), Cara Comini (Health, Home & Happiness), Sarah Fragoso (Everyday Paleo), Melissa Joulwan (The Clothes Make the Girl), Sarah Smith (Nourished and Nurtured), and Bill Staley and Hayley Mason (The Food Lovers Kitchen).

NourishedAppReview1

The app is very easy to use. You can look up recipes by course, season, and the time required to prepare the dish. You can also filter recipes if you’re looking for nut-free, egg-free, and other options. The app currently contains 77 recipes and I am happy to see that more are being added! Once you choose a recipe, you can add it to your Cooking Queue, check it off when you’ve cooked it, and select if you’ve loved it. You can also write whatever notes you have about the recipe right in the app. From the recipe’s page, you can pull the tab on the right hand side to reveal the prep time, total cooking time, season, course, and a description of the recipe. When you select the bottom tab, the ingredient list and recipe instructions are revealed.

I cooked 3 recipes from the app from different blogger’s collections. The recipes were complete and easy to follow, not to mention delectable! I’m definitely happy to have this app and can’t wait for more recipes!

EAGER TO TRY ALL THESE PRODUCTS – HERE IS YOUR CHANCE! 

Our giveaway includes:

To enter:

Remember Matt’s rules of giveaways:

  1. Please use a valid email address when entering. I cannot use my dowsing rods to attempt to find which bytes form your contact address!
  2. Please follow all the rules so I don’t get frustrated by invalid entries. Nothing makes more of a sad panda than picking a winner who I have to disqualify.
  3. Please respond within 48 hours or I will have to pick a new winner! I have a certain set of skills that make me a nightmare to people who don’t respond: the ability to randomly draw again.
  4. Please be a US resident. My mana is too low to cast a Teleportation Spell!

Giveaway will end on Monday, June 10 at midnight – winner to be announced on Tuesday, June 11.

 

You Might Also Like

  • Ali
    June 8, 2013 at 9:12 AM

    I would love to try choffy- I can’t tolerate coffee much, so I am always looking for good options!

  • Ali
    June 8, 2013 at 9:13 AM

    I follow you on facebook, twitter, and pinterest (still haven’t used instagram yet!) 🙂

  • Ali
    June 8, 2013 at 9:15 AM

    And I just wrote a review on Itunes. I am seriously addicted to the podcast! Keep ’em coming!

  • Kate
    June 8, 2013 at 10:05 AM

    I’ve been looking for a no caffeine replacement for coffee, so the choffy sounds great!

  • christine schwamb
    June 8, 2013 at 10:24 AM

    I would love to try the choffy and the raw chips!

  • Mary
    June 8, 2013 at 10:30 AM

    I am most excited to try the choffy!

  • Mary
    June 8, 2013 at 10:30 AM

    I follow you on Facebook

  • Nicole Webb
    June 8, 2013 at 10:33 AM

    The Choffy for sure!

  • Nicole Webb
    June 8, 2013 at 10:33 AM

    I follow you on Pinterest and FB. 🙂

  • Noelle
    June 8, 2013 at 10:40 AM

    I am looking forward to having the Choffy.

  • Katie
    June 8, 2013 at 10:43 AM

    Choffy!

  • Katie
    June 8, 2013 at 10:43 AM

    Follow you on Facebook, Pinterest and Instagram!

  • Danielle C
    June 8, 2013 at 10:54 AM

    I follow you on Facebook, and would love to try the Choffy!! (The Krill Oil is a close second!)

  • Christie Loveless
    June 8, 2013 at 10:59 AM

    The Choffy sounds amazing!

  • Christie Loveless
    June 8, 2013 at 11:00 AM

    I follow you on Facebook and Pinterest!

  • kris
    June 8, 2013 at 11:14 AM

    I would love to try the Choffy, but really need to start Krill oil.

  • Lydia
    June 8, 2013 at 11:19 AM

    Choffy or chips? How to decide…both sound delicious. 🙂

  • Lydia
    June 8, 2013 at 11:19 AM

    I follow you on facebook. 🙂

  • kate m
    June 8, 2013 at 11:23 AM

    Would most like to try the krill oil. =)

  • kate m
    June 8, 2013 at 11:24 AM

    Follow you guys on facebook! Love your positive approach.

  • Audrey
    June 8, 2013 at 12:30 PM

    I would like to try Brad’s Raw Chips

  • Audrey
    June 8, 2013 at 12:31 PM

    I like all three on FB

  • Everyday Maven
    June 8, 2013 at 12:36 PM

    I would love to try the Krill oil – I have such trouble taking fish oil supplements because they repeat on me so bad.

  • Everyday Maven
    June 8, 2013 at 12:36 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram.

  • Ebee
    June 8, 2013 at 12:44 PM

    The chips!

  • Lydia
    June 8, 2013 at 12:53 PM

    I like all three on facebook.

  • aelith
    June 8, 2013 at 3:35 PM

    I’d love to try the choffy! It is the most interesting–the krill oil would be my second choice (but more practical and less intriguing than the choffy).

  • Mystified
    June 8, 2013 at 4:21 PM

    Brad’s Raw Chips look to be great. Possibly will go for the Krill Oil.

  • Emily Burger
    June 8, 2013 at 5:08 PM

    I’d love to try the choffee OR the raw chips! I’m always looking for snacks I don’t have to make!

  • Julia
    June 8, 2013 at 7:29 PM

    Brads Raw Chips! I’m a sucker for salty crispy snacks 🙂

  • Julia
    June 8, 2013 at 7:32 PM

    I’ve “liked” Choffys, Brads, & Nourished App on Facebook.

  • Julia
    June 8, 2013 at 7:33 PM

    I follow you guys on FB, Twitter & Instagram.

  • Rachel Sollid
    June 8, 2013 at 8:15 PM

    I’m most excited about Choffy!! I’ve recently stopped drinking my morning coffe but miss having one. I think this might be a thousand times better!!

  • Rachel Sollid
    June 8, 2013 at 8:16 PM

    Liked all three (Choffy, brad’s raw chips, nourished app)!

  • Rachel Sollid
    June 8, 2013 at 8:17 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents/Matt/Stacey on Facebook, Instagram, twitter, and Pinterest, as well as the upcoming newsletter

  • Rachel Sollid
    June 8, 2013 at 8:18 PM

    I’ve put a review on iTunes a month or so ago 🙂

  • Christine
    June 9, 2013 at 2:03 AM

    I would love to get my hands on Choffy! Sounds delicious!

  • Ann Wilson
    June 9, 2013 at 9:30 AM

    I’m most excited for Choffy. I don’t drink coffee, but do love chocolate, cacao and cocoa. Yum!

  • Ann Wilson
    June 9, 2013 at 9:31 AM

    I liked them on Facebook.

  • Ann Wilson
    June 9, 2013 at 9:31 AM

    I follow you on Facebook and Twitter.

  • leslie
    June 9, 2013 at 10:33 AM

    I’d love to try the krill oil. I’m breastfeeding my baby and have been trying to keep up my Omega three levels. I like the cod liver oil, but this review makes me want to try something new!

  • leslie
    June 9, 2013 at 10:34 AM

    I follow you on Facebook and Twitter.

  • leslie
    June 9, 2013 at 10:35 AM

    I just placed a comment on the itunes podcast page. Which I’ve been meaning to do since I LOVE IT.

  • April
    June 9, 2013 at 12:19 PM

    I would like to try the krill oil.

  • April
    June 9, 2013 at 12:20 PM

    I follow you on fb & pinterest. I also subscribe to your podcast.

  • April
    June 9, 2013 at 12:27 PM

    I just left a review on itunes.

  • Bethany
    June 9, 2013 at 3:49 PM

    I want to try the Choffy!

  • kim ledford
    June 9, 2013 at 5:49 PM

    I want to try the Choffy, i need more energy than coffee can supply!

  • kim ledford
    June 9, 2013 at 5:50 PM

    I liked all 3 pages on FB

  • kim ledford
    June 9, 2013 at 5:50 PM

    I follow you on FB twiiter and via email.

  • Teresa Winters
    June 9, 2013 at 6:57 PM

    I would like to try Choffy. Sounds amazing!

  • Teresa Winters
    June 9, 2013 at 6:58 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest and Facebook.

  • april
    June 9, 2013 at 8:26 PM

    I’m most excited about the Choffy!

  • april
    June 9, 2013 at 8:27 PM

    I like Choffy, Brad’s Raw Chips, and the Nourished App on facebook.

  • april
    June 9, 2013 at 8:28 PM

    I’m most excited to try the Choffy.

  • april
    June 9, 2013 at 8:31 PM

    I’m following you on facebook (april scott), twitter (@amkj2002), and pinterest (http://pinterest.com/amkj2002/boards/)

  • Liese
    June 9, 2013 at 9:12 PM

    I have been wanting to try Choffy for a while now. and now wondering if Brad’s Raw Chips will be what i can get my autistic son to eat veggies.

  • Liese
    June 9, 2013 at 9:14 PM

    I liked Choffy, Brads Raw Chips and the Nourished App.

  • Liese
    June 9, 2013 at 9:15 PM

    I mostly follow on Facebook, but have twitter, Instagram and Pinterest too.

  • Liese
    June 9, 2013 at 9:20 PM

    Does a Review from May 1st 2013 count for your awesome podcast. ~Chyara

  • Kelly Zlevor
    June 10, 2013 at 8:16 AM

    I am most excited to try the choffy! I’ve needed a replacement for coffe as I am pregnant and can’t drink my usual 8 cups a day. 🙂 Coffy sounds like an awesome alternative.

  • Kelly Zlevor
    June 10, 2013 at 8:18 AM

    I liked Choffy, Brads Raw Chips, and the Nourished Apps on facebook.

  • Kelly Zlevor
    June 10, 2013 at 8:19 AM

    I follow you on facebook and pinterest.

  • Sarah Sexton
    June 10, 2013 at 1:10 PM

    Follow you on Pinterest!

  • Sarah Sexton
    June 10, 2013 at 1:10 PM

    I’d love to try Brad’s chips!

  • Kevin Pollack
    June 10, 2013 at 2:10 PM

    Would love to try the Choffy. I’m sure my wife wouldn’t mind it either 😉

  • Kevin Pollack
    June 10, 2013 at 2:11 PM

    I follow you guys on Facebook and Twitter

  • Kevin Pollack
    June 10, 2013 at 2:11 PM

    Liked all three pages on Facebook.

  • Emily Clifton
    June 10, 2013 at 6:59 PM

    Brad’s raw chips look so good!

  • Emily Clifton
    June 10, 2013 at 7:00 PM

    Liked all 3 facebook pages

  • Emily Clifton
    June 10, 2013 at 7:03 PM

    I follow on facebook, instagram and pinterest.

  • karen morris
    June 10, 2013 at 9:05 PM

    I cant wait to try the Choffy AND the Brads raw chips,they both sound very good !

  • Rachael Adams
    June 11, 2013 at 8:34 AM

    I’m most excited to try the Krill oil!

  • Rachael Adams
    June 11, 2013 at 8:35 AM

    I also liked all the pages of the contributors!

  • Rachael Adams
    June 11, 2013 at 8:35 AM

    I follow you guys on everything because I’m a fan-girl 🙂

  • Liz Rice
    June 11, 2013 at 3:31 PM

    I like all those Facebook pages already! Awesome!

  • Liz Rice
    June 11, 2013 at 3:32 PM

    I follow you on facebook (and listen to the podcast!)

  • Liz Rice
    June 11, 2013 at 3:33 PM

    I’ve tried the red pepper Brad’s chips, and they’re great! I’m most excited to try all the other flavors!

  • Shannon Offerman
    June 14, 2013 at 8:48 PM

    Can’t wait to try choffy!

  • Shannon Offerman
    June 14, 2013 at 8:49 PM

    Liked all three pages

  • Shannon Offerman
    June 14, 2013 at 8:50 PM

    I follow you on all those social media sites.

  • Rhonda Langford
    June 27, 2013 at 9:08 AM

    I’m most interested in trying Choffy.

Switch to safer skincare with Stacy Toth and save 20%!Use the code CLEANFORALL20