Book Review and a GIVEAWAY: Eat the Yolks by Liz Wolfe, NTP

Today, our Review Team Members, Kari and Katy, review the newly released, Eat The Yolks: Discover Paleo, Fight food Lies, and Reclaim Your Health by Liz Wolfe, NTP. 

You may remember that we already reviewed Liz’s ebook, Skintervention, and we have been long time fan of her work on her previous site, Cave Girl Eats. We think the world of this incredible author, who we met years and years ago when she came to visit us for a screening of Farmageddon.  Even then, Liz and our family were on the same length as to what constituted real, healthy foods (except he forgot eggs, even though I know he loves them).

RealFoodLiz meets PaleoParents
Egg, Bacon, Salad, The Dressing, Period. (And Apples too.)

Although I’d love to take credit for inspiring Liz’s genius to grow since we originally met her, the credit due is quite the opposite. She inspired us turn our humble family blog into something that could help others – and she even convinced us to write Eat Like a Dinosaur! And now she’s sharing that same awesome wit with all of you in her phenomenal way, and we know that you will love it too!  Bonus: the next time someone says to you, “I only eat egg whites, all that cholesterol in the yolk is bad for you!” you can just hand them this book and they’ll be too busy laughing and learning to ever question your food again!

♥♥♥

I’m sure many of you have already purchased Liz Wolfe’s book Eat The Yolks.  If you haven’t, what are you waiting for?!

what are you waiting for

 

Liz Wolfe of Real Food Liz (formerly Cave Girl Eats) throws conventional dietary “wisdom” out the window!  She provides the history behind why many people believe the conventional wisdom about nutrition and then goes about correcting these thoughts.

Eat the Yolks Review

If you have listened to Liz and Diane Sanfilippo’s Podcast, you’ll hear Liz’s voice as you read her book.  Her wit and voice is light and airy but the content is heavy with knowledge and scientific data.  You will not get bored while reading her book!  On episode #118 Liz described her book as “a microcosm for everything I believe about nutrition.  And it represents all that we’ve been falsely demonizing for many, many years.”

chapters2

Eat The Yolks is divided into four informative chapters: Fat, Protein, Carbs, and Nutrients.  I personally feel the chapter on Nutrients is the most important.  The most appealing reason for me to read this book was that Liz has made it clear that she cares more about nutrition rather than what fits the “rules” of Paleo.  Liz aims to give you the nutritional knowledge so that you can make good food choices for yourself.  Liz provides a rundown at the end of every chapter on what to do.  This is a quick snapshot of everything that was talked about in depth in the chapter and a great recap of the important info.

This book is great for anyone who is considering moving to a real food or Paleo lifestyle and has the typical concerns many people have: Should I be concerned about cholesterol?  Won’t eating fat make me fat?  Is it healthy to eliminate all grains?  Liz covers all these topics and busts these myths and many more!

finian

♥♥♥

Our Lead Assistant, Katy, also received a copy of Eat The Yolks to review, and here is what she had to say about the new book:

What I love about Eat The Yolks is that Liz takes the time to explain how the “results” of medical and nutritional studies are calculated. All too often I think that people hear about a “study” of a certain topic, like say, cholesterol, and based on what we are told of the results, they make drastic changes to their lives. Liz points out that we have to be careful of how much faith we put in those studies because of the number of factors involved, and we also have to be aware that the results of the studies can be phrased in any number of ways to suit different parties’ interests. Correlation and Causation are often confused for being the same thing, and Liz points out that marketing companies of both food and drugs take advantage of this common misconception to make the public at large believe that their product will help improve their lives in some way.

As she so eloquently explains, “here’s the truth: All that marketing is covering up some pretty damn dangerous stuff. The bloated ad budgets of Corn-This, Big Soy, and Whole-Grain-That exist not because the products are healthy and they have a moral imperative to tell the world, but because the crops are government subsidized, the products are cheap-cheap-cheap to make, and every single one suck in profits right along with that last piece of Big Agriculture’s soul.” Eat The Yolks, pg. 141

I LOVED the in-your-face honesty in this book. I loved that Liz went and personally researched EVERY SINGLE lie about nutrition that we have been fed, both mentally and physically, for YEARS. This book not only educates the reader about real food, but it also empowers the reader to look at nutrition and advertising with a discerning eye. I also appreciated the obvious passion and fervor that Liz has for getting the truth out. It’s aggressive and challenging, but in a completely positive way. She wants the reader to really get it. Many of the passages in the book linger in your brain, probing you to deeply consider the topics she is discussing, so that the next time you see a commercial for the newest “Heart Healthy Whole Grain” whatever – something inside you clicks, and you see it for the sad lie that it is.

I’ve already got a list a mile long of friends that I want to loan this book to, and I can’t wait for this book to get into more and more people’s hands. It’s quickly shot to the top of my “recommended reading” list for anyone who asks me about “this paleo thing” that I do because not only does it provide excellent information – but it’s entertaining and witty. Just what any newcomer (or seasoned paleo vetran) needs in their library!

 

 

want to win a copy

GIVEAWAY: Win one and we guarantee you’ll love it!

How do you enter? Simple!

To enter:

Up to 5 entries per person. No purchase required!

Remember Matt’s rules of giveaways:

  1. Please use a valid email address when entering. I cannot use my dowsing rods to attempt to find which bytes form your contact address!
  2. Please follow all the rules so I don’t get frustrated by invalid entries. Nothing makes more of a sad panda than picking a winner who I have to disqualify.
  3. Please respond within 48 hours or I will have to pick a new winner! I have a certain set of skills that make me a nightmare to people who don’t respond: the ability to randomly draw again.
  4. Please be a US resident. My mana is too low to cast a Teleportation Spell!

Giveaway will end on Friday, March 7, 2014 .

You Might Also Like

  • Kim Jordan
    March 4, 2014 at 1:40 PM

    I’m subscribed to your newsletter.

  • Kim Jordan
    March 4, 2014 at 1:41 PM

    I liked the Real Food Liz FB page.

  • Kim Jordan
    March 4, 2014 at 1:41 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and Twitter.

  • Chelsie McKinney
    March 4, 2014 at 1:44 PM

    subscribe to your emails

  • Chelsie McKinney
    March 4, 2014 at 1:45 PM

    Liked Real Food Liz on FB

  • Chelsie McKinney
    March 4, 2014 at 1:45 PM

    Follow in IG

  • Chelsie McKinney
    March 4, 2014 at 1:45 PM

    Follow on twitter

  • Chelsie McKinney
    March 4, 2014 at 1:45 PM

    Follow on Pinterest

  • Chelsie McKinney
    March 4, 2014 at 1:45 PM

    Follow you on FB

  • Vanessa B
    March 4, 2014 at 1:51 PM

    Liked Real Food Liz on FB

  • Vanessa B
    March 4, 2014 at 1:51 PM

    Follow you on FB

  • Vanessa B
    March 4, 2014 at 1:52 PM

    Subscribed to your newsletter! 🙂

  • Kristen
    March 4, 2014 at 2:05 PM

    I’m a newsletter subscriber.

  • Kristen
    March 4, 2014 at 2:05 PM

    I “like” Real Food Liz on FB.

  • Jessica Perez
    March 4, 2014 at 2:05 PM

    I like you on all social media 🙂
    I like Liz on Fb
    I am subscribed (seriously one of my fave subcriptions–can’t beat stacy’s posts)
    I already had reviewed the podcast (also love :D)

  • Kristen
    March 4, 2014 at 2:05 PM

    I “like” Paleo Parents on FB.

  • Kristen
    March 4, 2014 at 2:05 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Pinterest.

  • lewaletzko
    March 4, 2014 at 2:18 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter…love it!

  • Hayley
    March 4, 2014 at 2:21 PM

    I like Real Food Liz on fb

  • Hayley
    March 4, 2014 at 2:21 PM

    I like Paleo Parents on fb

  • Hayley
    March 4, 2014 at 2:21 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on twitter

  • Hayley
    March 4, 2014 at 2:22 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on instragram

  • Hayley
    March 4, 2014 at 2:22 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on pinterest

  • Melissa Carr
    March 4, 2014 at 2:23 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on facebook — HoneyBee Holistics

  • Melissa Carr
    March 4, 2014 at 2:23 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Pinterest — HoneyBHolistics

  • Melissa Carr
    March 4, 2014 at 2:24 PM

    I follow Real Food Liz on facebook — HoneyBee Holistics

  • Melissa Carr
    March 4, 2014 at 2:24 PM

    I have been subscribing to the newsletter for some time now:) honeybeeholistics@yahoo

  • Melissa Carr
    March 4, 2014 at 2:25 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on TWITTER — @HoneyBeeHolisti

  • Melissa Carr
    March 4, 2014 at 2:25 PM

    I left a review for “Beyond Bacon” on Amazon — 5 stars***** —- honeybeeholistics at yahoo email

  • Lauren S.
    March 4, 2014 at 2:35 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Lauren S.
    March 4, 2014 at 2:35 PM

    I like Real Food Liz on facebook

  • Lauren S.
    March 4, 2014 at 2:35 PM

    I follow you on facebook

  • Lauren S.
    March 4, 2014 at 2:36 PM

    I follow you on twitter, @lazza_zo

  • Lauren S.
    March 4, 2014 at 2:36 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest, laurenscalzo

  • Valerie
    March 4, 2014 at 2:45 PM

    I already get your newsletter.

  • Valerie
    March 4, 2014 at 2:45 PM

    I follow “Real Food Liz” on FB.

  • Valerie
    March 4, 2014 at 2:46 PM

    I follow you on Twitter.

  • Valerie
    March 4, 2014 at 2:46 PM

    I follow you on FB.

  • Valerie
    March 4, 2014 at 2:46 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest.

  • Sarah
    March 4, 2014 at 2:49 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter! =)

  • Sarah
    March 4, 2014 at 2:50 PM

    I follow Liz’s FB page =)

  • Kylie
    March 4, 2014 at 3:00 PM

    I follow you on Facebook 🙂 and Instagram!! I don’t really know how the Twitter works!

  • Kylie
    March 4, 2014 at 3:01 PM

    I totally just signed up for your newsletter!

  • Sarah
    March 4, 2014 at 3:03 PM

    I’ve just subscribed to your newsletter! LOVE your site!

  • Sarah
    March 4, 2014 at 3:03 PM

    I follow FB, Instagram, Pinterest and now Twitter!

  • Sarah
    March 4, 2014 at 3:03 PM

    just liked the real liz FB !

  • Barb
    March 4, 2014 at 3:09 PM

    Follow real food Liz on Facebook

  • Barb
    March 4, 2014 at 3:09 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest

  • Barb
    March 4, 2014 at 3:10 PM

    I receive you newsletter

  • Emily Burger
    March 4, 2014 at 3:36 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Emily Burger
    March 4, 2014 at 3:37 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest

  • Emily Burger
    March 4, 2014 at 3:37 PM

    I’ve reviewed ELAD on Amazon

  • Jaye Gallagher
    March 4, 2014 at 4:14 PM

    I follow you on Instagram!

  • Jaye Gallagher
    March 4, 2014 at 4:15 PM

    I like Real Food Liz!

  • Victoria Norman
    March 4, 2014 at 5:14 PM

    I liked Real Food Liz’s Facebook page.

  • Victoria Norman
    March 4, 2014 at 5:16 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Facebook

  • april
    March 4, 2014 at 6:19 PM

    I follow you on pinterest, twitter, and facebook.

  • april
    March 4, 2014 at 6:19 PM

    I like real food liz on facebook.

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 4, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter!

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 4, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    I’m a fan of Real Food Liz on Facebook.

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 4, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    I’m a fan of The Paleo Parents on Facebook.

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 4, 2014 at 7:03 PM

    I follow The Paleo Parents on Twitter.

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 4, 2014 at 7:04 PM

    I follow The Paleo Parents on Instagram!

  • Betty Jo Martin
    March 4, 2014 at 7:41 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter.

  • Betty Jo Martin
    March 4, 2014 at 7:42 PM

    I like Real Food Liz on Facebook (by the way the link for that one doesn’t go to Liz on Facebook)

  • Tina
    March 4, 2014 at 11:04 PM

    I like the Real Food Liz Facebook page

  • Tina
    March 4, 2014 at 11:04 PM

    I like the Paleo Parents Facebook page

  • Tina
    March 4, 2014 at 11:04 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Pinterest

  • Tina
    March 4, 2014 at 11:04 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Instagram

  • Tina
    March 4, 2014 at 11:05 PM

    I reviewed “Eat the Yolks” on Amazon

  • Janet
    March 5, 2014 at 12:10 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Janet
    March 5, 2014 at 12:10 AM

    I like Real Food Liz on Facebook

  • Janet
    March 5, 2014 at 12:10 AM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest

  • Janet
    March 5, 2014 at 12:11 AM

    I reviewed The Paleo View in iTunes

  • Janet
    March 5, 2014 at 12:11 AM

    I reviewed Beyond Bacon on Amazon.com

  • Sara
    March 5, 2014 at 10:21 AM

    Sounds like an awesome book. I’m a newsletter subscriber.

  • Erica Lorenz-Hays
    March 5, 2014 at 10:55 AM

    I can’t wait to read this!

  • Lisa P
    March 5, 2014 at 1:45 PM

    I like Real Food Liz on facebook.

  • Renee V.
    March 5, 2014 at 2:03 PM

    I’m subscribed!!!!! Looking forwards to all the good and fun info coming my way.

  • Renee V.
    March 5, 2014 at 2:03 PM

    LOVE ME some Liz on FB!

  • Renee V.
    March 5, 2014 at 2:05 PM

    I follow you guys on IG, love the drool worthy photos and goats!

  • Renee V.
    March 5, 2014 at 2:11 PM

    I’m tagging along on FB TOO

  • Renee V.
    March 5, 2014 at 2:12 PM

    I also look at all your food graphic pins too!

  • Kelsey Michele Heathers
    March 5, 2014 at 3:07 PM

    I’m subscribed to your blog!

  • Kelsey Michele Heathers
    March 5, 2014 at 3:09 PM

    I like Real Food Liz on facebook.

  • Kelsey Michele Heathers
    March 5, 2014 at 3:09 PM

    I’m subscribed to your blog

  • Kelsey Michele Heathers
    March 5, 2014 at 3:37 PM

    I follow you guys on Facebook, twitter, pinterest and instagram! 🙂

  • Janene Jones
    March 5, 2014 at 4:04 PM

    Sorry if this is a double post…. can’t tell if the last one went through? I follow you on facebook and receive your newsletter. I liked Liz’s page on facebook and signed up for her newsletter. I love your book 3 phase paleo and have begun to change my life with it. I would love to have Liz’s book also, as i am trying to make my husband understand why this way of life is so important and healthy and why he needs to change his diet. Thanks for all you do!!

  • kim vb
    March 5, 2014 at 4:16 PM

    I get the newsletter

  • kim vb
    March 5, 2014 at 4:16 PM

    Totally follow liz on fb

  • kim vb
    March 5, 2014 at 4:17 PM

    Feel like a stalker now. Lol. Follow you all on fb, instagram, and Twitter.

  • Kimberly Tucker
    March 5, 2014 at 4:19 PM

    I follow you on FB and get the news letter. Sadly I am trying not to get into twitter and I have not read any of the books yet so I can’t give a review. I would absolutely love to read this book so I can take my paleo steps to the next leave. I am just starting out and so far love the foods and feel so much better. I love all the recipes and information you give and I am slowly tryin to get my kids to eat more paleo friendly foods.

  • Elizabeth G.
    March 5, 2014 at 7:00 PM

    I subscribe to the Paleo Parents Newsletter.

  • Elizabeth G.
    March 5, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    I Like Real Food Liz on Facebook.

  • Elizabeth G.
    March 5, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    I Like Paleo Parents on Facebook.

  • Elizabeth G.
    March 5, 2014 at 7:04 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Twitter.

  • Elizabeth G.
    March 5, 2014 at 7:06 PM

    I follow on Pinterest.

  • julianna
    March 5, 2014 at 9:56 PM

    i like real food liz on fb. 🙂

  • christopher
    March 5, 2014 at 11:03 PM

    Without the yolks, eggs are just all-white!

  • Chelsea Hartweg
    March 6, 2014 at 6:54 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Chelsea Hartweg
    March 6, 2014 at 6:54 AM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Facebook

  • Chelsea Hartweg
    March 6, 2014 at 6:54 AM

    i follow Real Food Liz on Facebook

  • Chelsea Hartweg
    March 6, 2014 at 7:00 AM

    I have left an Amazon review of Beyond Bacon

  • Arien G.
    March 6, 2014 at 8:14 PM

    I subscribe to the newsletter!

  • Arien G.
    March 6, 2014 at 8:14 PM

    I follow Liz’s Facebook page.

  • Arien G.
    March 6, 2014 at 8:14 PM

    I follow PaleoParents on Facebook.

  • Kristin
    March 6, 2014 at 9:04 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Kristin
    March 6, 2014 at 9:04 PM

    I like Real Food Liz.

  • Kristin
    March 6, 2014 at 9:04 PM

    I follow PaleoParents on Facebook.

  • Laura
    March 6, 2014 at 9:06 PM

    i subscribe to your newsletter!

  • Laura
    March 6, 2014 at 9:06 PM

    im a fan of real food liz on fb

  • Laura
    March 6, 2014 at 9:06 PM

    i follow you on instagram

  • Laura
    March 6, 2014 at 9:06 PM

    i follow you on FB!

  • Rosalie Romero
    March 6, 2014 at 9:23 PM

    I subscribed to paleo parents newsletter

  • Rosalie Romero
    March 6, 2014 at 9:24 PM

    I “like” the paleo parents on facebook and Instagram

  • Rosalie Romero
    March 6, 2014 at 9:25 PM

    I “like” real food liz on facebook

  • Rosalie Romero
    March 6, 2014 at 9:25 PM

    And I follow paleo parents on pinterest

  • Wendy Moeller
    March 6, 2014 at 9:28 PM

    Subscribed to the newsletter 🙂

  • Jackie
    March 6, 2014 at 9:37 PM

    Receive your newsletter, follow Paleo Parents & Real Food Liz @ FB

  • Sylvie Daigle
    March 6, 2014 at 9:37 PM

    Subscribed to your newsletter

  • Sylvie Daigle
    March 6, 2014 at 9:38 PM

    Like Real Food Liz on Facebook

  • Sylvie Daigle
    March 6, 2014 at 9:41 PM

    Follow Paleo Parents on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest

  • Hannah Albright
    March 6, 2014 at 9:45 PM

    Like Real Food Liz on Facebook

  • Jax
    March 6, 2014 at 11:00 PM

    Like Liz.

  • Jax
    March 6, 2014 at 11:00 PM

    Follow on Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter.

  • Jax
    March 6, 2014 at 11:00 PM

    Subscribe to newsletter.

  • Ashley B.
    March 6, 2014 at 11:55 PM

    I like Real Food Liz on facebook.

  • Ashley B.
    March 6, 2014 at 11:56 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on instagram.

  • Ashley B.
    March 6, 2014 at 11:56 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on facebook.

  • mspibbles
    March 6, 2014 at 11:57 PM

    already subscribe to your newsletter

  • mspibbles
    March 6, 2014 at 11:57 PM

    Follow you on Facebook

  • mspibbles
    March 6, 2014 at 11:58 PM

    Follow Real Food Liz on Facebook. ( Kinda sad she changed her ‘handle’ but Liz is doing great things)

  • Karla W
    March 7, 2014 at 5:44 AM

    Subscribe to the newsletter

  • Karla W
    March 7, 2014 at 5:45 AM

    Follow Liz on Facebook

  • Karla W
    March 7, 2014 at 5:45 AM

    Follow Palo Parents on Facebook

  • blondie721
    March 7, 2014 at 7:35 PM

    Love you guys…. subscribed to newsletter

  • christina dutra
    March 7, 2014 at 10:13 PM

    subscribed 🙂

  • Barbara
    March 8, 2014 at 2:40 AM

    subscribed to the newsletter! 🙂

  • Chandra Lawrie
    March 9, 2014 at 10:28 PM

    Just started Crossift, and also a pretty strict Paleo diet. I wasn’t quite seeing the results I wanted. I found a book called Become and Elite Mental Athlete by David Silverstein. It was a short read that helped me realize I had to get my brain right. There is something to be said for the mental part of the whole process. Until I got that part right my journey didn’t take off. His book I recommend as it’s a real catalyst to learn some basics on how ot get your brain to function high and then everything else really follows.

  • thefitty
    March 10, 2014 at 6:48 AM

    I follow you on instagram!: thefitty

  • thefitty
    March 10, 2014 at 6:48 AM

    I follow you in Twitter !

  • Jaclyn Reynolds
    March 11, 2014 at 8:52 AM

    Fb fan Jaclyn Reynolds

  • Jessica Olejniczak
    March 11, 2014 at 2:52 PM

    FB fan

Get 20% off plus 10% back, free shipping and a FREE Brightening Facial Mist welcome giftshop with Stacy Toth!