Uncategorized

Reviews & Giveaway: Tessemae’s

Since we began Paleo Parents, we’ve been increasingly and routinely asked to review books and products by people in and adjacent to the paleo community. At this point, we get so many we are unable to actually do the reviews of the products in a timely manner! That’s why we recruited the Paleo Parents Review Team to fill in the gaps.

This week we have Anne reviewing Tessemae’s, along with a look at her recipe for Roasted Squash Salad. Stay tuned to the end of the post for a giveaway!

♥♥♥

​When Stacy asked for someone to review Tessemae’s I practically jumped for joy. I had the opportunity to try a couple of their sauces during a Balanced Bites seminar and was very impressed. After going home I did a little research on the company and was even more pleased to find out that all of the products are “clean”.  I could relate to the mother’s story of working on getting good quality foods into her family.

Tessemae'sReview - PaleoParents1

What’s great for me about these is that my husband isn’t dependent on me being home to work my dressing magic. Besides, who doesn’t like having the convenience of grabbing and going? Since going Paleo and cutting out the “junk” it’s been almost impossible (until now) to find a dressing or marinade that doesn’t have something in it that less than desirable. Occasionally I’ve found a fresh dressing but nothing that is shelf stable like these are.

We’ve obviously used the Zesty Ranch and Lemon Garlic on salads, but that’s just the beginning [Note from Stacy: these are both Autoimmune-Paleo-Friendly and my 2 favorites!]. We had dinner with our favorite bloggers Stacy and Matt and I was responsible for the sides for their main dish of ribs (PS you need to check out their new book Beyond Bacon OMG yum). I saw we had some yellow squash, zucchini, red onion and grape tomatoes that would be perfect for a roasted vegetable salad.

Tessemae'sReview by PaleoParents2

Roasted Squash Salad

Ingredients

  • 2 zucchini
  • 1 large yellow squash
  • 1 large red onion
  • 2 Tbsp melted fat or oil (I used lard)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Handful of grape tomatoes, split in half
  • ⅛ cup Tessemae’s Balsamic dressing

Tessemae'sReview by PaleoParents4

Cooking Instructions:

  1. I chopped the zucchini and yellow squash in large cubes, tossed with melted oil/fat, and salted and peppered lightly.
  2. Next I roasted for 45 minutes at 415 degrees.
  3. Once the squash was cool, I tossed with grape tomatoes.

Back in my pre-Paleo days Wishbone Italian was my go to for a quickie marinade. However, the Balsamic dressing made that pale in comparison.

Next up for our review, my husband used the Lemon Chesapeake to marinate chicken thighs we planned to grill.  They turned out so delicious that my 5 year old keeps requesting the meal!

Tessemae'sReview by PaleoParents3

So far we haven’t found a flavor that isn’t as good as or better than the ones before.

My all time favorite has been their Hot Sauce/Wing Sauce (Hot). We marinated a pork roast and then grilled it and it was amazing! My husband loves spicy wings and we hadn’t found a recipe yet that met his need for wing spiciness without having dairy in it (as well as a lot of preservatives). Now that we’ve found Tessemae’s our quest has ended.

Tessemae'sReview by PaleoParents5

I would run, not walk, to your local store or go online and buy this immediately. The taste, convenience, and ease of mind knowing that you are eating something both delicious and healthy can’t be beat.

ENTER TO WIN YOUR OWN SAMPLE PACK OF TESSEMAE’S!

To enter:

Remember Matt’s rules of giveaways:

  1. Please use a valid email address when entering. I cannot use my dowsing rods to attempt to find which bytes form your contact address!
  2. Please follow all the rules so I don’t get frustrated by invalid entries. Nothing makes more of a sad panda than picking a winner who I have to disqualify.
  3. Please respond within 48 hours or I will have to pick a new winner! I have a certain set of skills that make me a nightmare to people who don’t respond: the ability to randomly draw again.
  4. Please be a US resident. My mana is too low to cast a Teleportation Spell!

Giveaway will end on Monday, June 17 at midnight – winner to be announced on Tuesday, June 18.

You Might Also Like

  • Lynette Lipscomb
    June 12, 2013 at 10:39 AM

    I’d like to try the Lemon Garlic flavor.

  • Lynette Lipscomb
    June 12, 2013 at 10:39 AM

    I “like” Tessemae’s Facebook page

  • Lynette Lipscomb
    June 12, 2013 at 10:40 AM

    I follow you guys on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest

  • Linda1957
    June 12, 2013 at 10:40 AM

    I’d be most interested in the Zesty Ranch. I’ve liked the Tessamae page on FB. Shared the post and I follow you on FB.

  • rebecca
    June 12, 2013 at 10:45 AM

    I would love to try the wing sauce!

  • rebecca
    June 12, 2013 at 10:45 AM

    I liked the Tessemae page

  • rebecca
    June 12, 2013 at 10:46 AM

    I like you on facebook, twitter, and pinterest.

  • Amy Curtis
    June 12, 2013 at 10:47 AM

    Awesome sauce!! I just bought the wing sauce and zesty ranch. Can’t wait to try it out. Thanks for the suggestions!

  • Amy Curtis
    June 12, 2013 at 10:49 AM

    I “like” Tessemae page.

  • Martha Scaife-Bailes
    June 12, 2013 at 10:49 AM

    Would love to try all of them, but I like anything Balsamic.

  • Amy Curtis
    June 12, 2013 at 10:50 AM

    Follow you on Facebook.

  • Emily
    June 12, 2013 at 10:51 AM

    I really want to try the Ranch dressing.
    I’ve liked Tessamae’s page on FB
    I follow you on Facebook and pintrest

  • Alysia Caringi
    June 12, 2013 at 10:57 AM

    I’m excited to try the hot sauce. They carry Tessemae’s at my local whole foods but not the hot sauce! I like Tessemae’s on Facebook and I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!

  • Angela P
    June 12, 2013 at 11:01 AM

    I follow you on facebook and I would love to try the Balsamic dressing. I have the Zesty Ranch and Lemon!

  • Heather
    June 12, 2013 at 11:04 AM

    I would love to try their Balsamic. I have liked their page and I also follow you on Pinterest and Facebook. Left positive on itunes too!!

  • ginawalker
    June 12, 2013 at 11:06 AM

    I would love to try their balsamic! I can’t get enough balsamic!

  • ginawalker
    June 12, 2013 at 11:06 AM

    I follow you guys on Facebook!

  • Bobbi
    June 12, 2013 at 11:20 AM

    I REALLY want to try zesty ranch!!
    I like Tessemaes FB page
    I follow you on FB and Pinterest!

  • Katie Knudsen Downs
    June 12, 2013 at 11:23 AM

    I can’t wait to try the BBQ sauce! My family loves a good BBQ and have been missing it since going paleo!

  • Katie Knudsen Downs
    June 12, 2013 at 11:24 AM

    Just liked Tessemea on FB, can’t wait to try their stuff!

  • Rachael Adams
    June 12, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    I want the hot sauce!

  • Rachael Adams
    June 12, 2013 at 11:26 AM

    I also like TessaMae’s page on fb!

  • Rachael Adams
    June 12, 2013 at 11:26 AM

    I follow you guys on EVERYTHING 🙂

  • Katie Knudsen Downs
    June 12, 2013 at 11:26 AM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram 🙂 Love your blog!!!!

  • Katie Knudsen Downs
    June 12, 2013 at 11:27 AM

    Gave The Paleo View podcast a 5 star rating in itunes! Love them!

  • Alicia K
    June 12, 2013 at 11:42 AM

    They all sound SO good but I would LOVE to try the Zesty Ranch! I miss ranch dressing terribly after going dairy free.

  • Alicia K
    June 12, 2013 at 11:43 AM

    I follow on FB, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest.

  • Alicia K
    June 12, 2013 at 11:43 AM

    I liked the Tessemae’s FB page!

  • Arin Jones
    June 12, 2013 at 11:44 AM

    I already love the Balsamic….but I’m looking forward to trying the Zesty ranch!

  • Janelle
    June 12, 2013 at 11:48 AM

    I really want to try the Zesty Ranch and the Buffalo Sauce

  • Janelle
    June 12, 2013 at 11:49 AM

    I liked the Tessamae’s facebook page!

  • Janelle
    June 12, 2013 at 11:50 AM

    I follow you guys on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and Twitter

  • Mallory
    June 12, 2013 at 12:04 PM

    Follow you on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter

  • Mallory
    June 12, 2013 at 12:04 PM

    Liked Tessemae’s on FB

  • Mallory
    June 12, 2013 at 12:05 PM

    I can’t wait to try the Ranch because I miss my Ranch dressing but don’t have time to make my own!

  • Amanda Rowland
    June 12, 2013 at 12:07 PM

    Follow you guys on facebook, twitter, and pinterest. Five stars to the podcast! Liked Tessemae page. Would love to try zesty ranch.

  • rc reed
    June 12, 2013 at 12:15 PM

    The balsamic sounds awesome.

  • rc reed
    June 12, 2013 at 12:16 PM

    Following Tessemae’s on FB.

  • rc reed
    June 12, 2013 at 12:16 PM

    Following Paleoparents on FB!

  • Bridget
    June 12, 2013 at 12:17 PM

    I am excited to try the balsamic vinaigrette. I use that sauce the most in my cooking.

  • Bridget
    June 12, 2013 at 12:18 PM

    I like the Tessemae page on FB

  • Bridget
    June 12, 2013 at 12:19 PM

    I follow you on FB, Twitter, and Pinterest.

  • Niki Sollinger
    June 12, 2013 at 12:31 PM

    Ready to try the Hot Sauce! Love the Zesty Ranch!

  • Callie Haddox Branch
    June 12, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    I’d love to try their BBQ sauce!

  • Callie Haddox Branch
    June 12, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    I Liked Tessemae’s on FB!

  • Callie Haddox Branch
    June 12, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    I follow you on FB and Pinterest!

  • Niki Sollinger
    June 12, 2013 at 12:35 PM

    Liked Tessemae’s page on FB.

  • Solducky
    June 12, 2013 at 12:35 PM

    The soy ginger loks yummy!

  • Niki Sollinger
    June 12, 2013 at 12:39 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Instagram, Facebook and Pinterest.

  • Everyday Maven
    June 12, 2013 at 1:07 PM

    I have never heard of Tessemaes – can’t wait to check it out! I follow you on FB, Twitter & IG

  • Laura
    June 12, 2013 at 1:19 PM

    ive only heard good things about the zesty ranch, so thats what i would love to try first!

  • Laura
    June 12, 2013 at 1:19 PM

    im a fan of yours on facebook!

  • Laura
    June 12, 2013 at 1:20 PM

    liked tessemae on facebook!

  • Liz Overton
    June 12, 2013 at 1:36 PM

    I like the looks of the southwest ranch dressing!

  • Liz Overton
    June 12, 2013 at 1:36 PM

    I like Tessemae’s on Facebook!

  • Liz Overton
    June 12, 2013 at 1:36 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram!

  • Mileni Tung
    June 12, 2013 at 1:53 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram & Pinterest! I now follow Tessemae’s on Facebook and purchased my first bottle (bbq) at Wholefoods. Looking forward to trying it. I also rated you on itunes 🙂

  • karen
    June 12, 2013 at 3:07 PM

    I would love to try the ranch!

  • karen
    June 12, 2013 at 3:07 PM

    i follow tessemae on fb

  • karen
    June 12, 2013 at 3:07 PM

    follow paleoparents on fb

  • lora
    June 12, 2013 at 3:19 PM

    i visit the website every day

  • Robin
    June 12, 2013 at 3:50 PM

    I follow you on Facebook and Pinterest.

  • Robin
    June 12, 2013 at 3:50 PM

    I like Tessamae’s on FB.

  • Robin
    June 12, 2013 at 3:51 PM

    I am excited to try the ranch. I am obsessed with the Balsamic Vinaigrette and am ready to try new flavors.

  • Kristina Lovell
    June 12, 2013 at 9:11 PM

    I’d love to try the Zesty Ranch!

  • Kristina Lovell
    June 12, 2013 at 9:12 PM

    I “like” Tessemae’s on Facebook.

  • Kristina Lovell
    June 12, 2013 at 9:15 PM

    I follow you guys on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest. 🙂

  • sooz
    June 12, 2013 at 9:34 PM

    I love Tessemae’s. I first tried them at a demo at Whole Foods in Springfield. The lemon garlic is my favorite. I use it almost daily.

  • sooz
    June 12, 2013 at 9:36 PM

    I follow you on facebook, twitter and Pinterest. Can’t wait to meet you at the Meetup!

  • jessica kenney
    June 13, 2013 at 8:30 AM

    I would love to try Matty’s BBQ Sauce. My hubby and kids love BBQ, but it always has so much junk in it if we buy from the store, and I have yet to find a recipe that we like when we make it from scratch. It looks tasty. Can’t wait to try out the entire line of sauces 🙂

  • jessica kenney
    June 13, 2013 at 8:31 AM

    I liked Tessemaes on FB.

  • jessica kenney
    June 13, 2013 at 8:31 AM

    I follow you on FB, and Pinterest (mrsspotsykenney).

  • Carolyn
    June 13, 2013 at 10:04 AM

    I love dipping my food in sauces and is one of the things I missed most… until I tried Tessemae’s Hot Sauce and BBQ! I am super excited to try the Lemon Garlic!

  • Carolyn
    June 13, 2013 at 10:04 AM

    I follow Tessemae’s on Facebook…

  • Carolyn
    June 13, 2013 at 10:05 AM

    I follow you on Instagram, Pinterest, and Facebook!

  • Jen Irlbacher
    June 13, 2013 at 10:29 AM

    I’ve already tried the Lemon Chesapeake and it reminds me of a Low Country Boil! I’m excited to try the Ranch, and I know everyone loves the Lemon Garlic!

  • Jen Irlbacher
    June 13, 2013 at 10:29 AM

    I like Tessemae’s on FB

  • Jen Irlbacher
    June 13, 2013 at 10:30 AM

    I follow you on FB, Twitter, & Pinterest.

  • tiptoeskst
    June 13, 2013 at 11:01 AM

    I think I’m most excited to try the Hot Hot Sauce…we like things spicy in this house!

  • tiptoeskst
    June 13, 2013 at 11:02 AM

    I follow Paleo Parents on FB, Twitter, and Pinterest.

  • tiptoeskst
    June 13, 2013 at 11:02 AM

    I went and liked Tessamae’s!

  • Katherine Converse Fritz
    June 13, 2013 at 11:42 AM

    Matty’s BBQ Sauce is incredible! need to try the lemon garlic, but everything is SOO Good it’s always sold out atthe Whole Foods I shop at. I “liked” Tessamae’s on FB a while ago, and have told everyone at my CrossFit about the BBQ Sauce- maybe that’s why it’s always sold out!!

  • orca_chick
    June 13, 2013 at 11:49 AM

    I love, love, love Tessemae’s! We can only get a few of their dressing here in California right now but I’m really hoping the buffalo sauce and southwestern ranch make it out this way sometime soon!

    I also liked them on Facebook!

    I follow Paleo Parents on Facebook as well. 🙂

  • Pogonia
    June 13, 2013 at 11:50 AM

    I would love to try the Lemon Lemon Garlic; but would also love to send a bottle of the Hot Hot Sauce to my future SIL in Alaska. 🙂

  • Pogonia
    June 13, 2013 at 11:50 AM

    I liked Tessamae on FB under SJ Roragen

  • Pogonia
    June 13, 2013 at 11:50 AM

    I liked Paleo Parents under SJ Roragen

  • Hilary Thorpe
    June 13, 2013 at 12:36 PM

    I want to try the lemon chesapeake (although they all look amazing!)

  • Hilary Thorpe
    June 13, 2013 at 12:36 PM

    I like tessamae’s on fb!

  • Hilary Thorpe
    June 13, 2013 at 12:36 PM

    I follow you guys on twitter!

  • Hilary Thorpe
    June 13, 2013 at 12:44 PM

    I follow you on FB!

  • Hilary Thorpe
    June 13, 2013 at 12:45 PM

    I follow you on pinterest!

  • Hilary Thorpe
    June 13, 2013 at 12:45 PM

    And I follow you on instagram!

  • Kelsey
    June 13, 2013 at 12:45 PM

    I can’t wait to try the Zesty Ranch… I just had Matty’s BBQ Sauce on pulled pork. Amazing!

  • Kelsey
    June 13, 2013 at 12:49 PM

    I like Tessamae’s on Facebook. I am so happy I found out about their dressings it’s keeping my Paleo life style creative and delicious!

  • Kelsey
    June 13, 2013 at 12:51 PM

    Paleo Parents I am following you on Instagram!

  • Jennifer Bates
    June 13, 2013 at 12:55 PM

    How can you pick just one to try? I can’t wait to pick them all up. Ranch and peppercorn top my list I think though.

  • Jennifer Bates
    June 13, 2013 at 12:55 PM

    I liked Tessemae on fb

  • Jennifer Bates
    June 13, 2013 at 12:56 PM

    I follow you on all of the above.

  • Abby Wiley Frelich
    June 13, 2013 at 2:12 PM

    Zesty Ranch is invited to the party in my tummy!

  • Abby Wiley Frelich
    June 13, 2013 at 2:12 PM

    I like Tessemae’s on FB

  • Abby Wiley Frelich
    June 13, 2013 at 2:13 PM

    I follow PP on FB, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter!

  • Abby Wiley Frelich
    June 13, 2013 at 2:20 PM

    Left a new (and glowing) review on iTunes for the podcast!

  • chunkytales
    June 13, 2013 at 4:56 PM

    I follow you guys on Pinterest and Twitter!

  • chunkytales
    June 13, 2013 at 4:56 PM

    I like Tessemae’s on FB!

  • chunkytales
    June 13, 2013 at 4:56 PM

    LOVE to try the ranch flavor!

  • chunkytales
    June 13, 2013 at 4:57 PM

    Just left a review! PS my FB name is Sar Cramer and my twitter is @sicrames 🙂

  • Rachel K
    June 13, 2013 at 9:39 PM

    I’d most like to try the Soy Ginger for stir fry!

  • Rachel K
    June 13, 2013 at 9:40 PM

    I LIKE Tessamae’s on Facebook.

  • Rachel K
    June 13, 2013 at 9:40 PM

    I follow you on Facebook.

  • Kristen
    June 14, 2013 at 6:45 AM

    What a great giveaway! I follow you guys on Facebook!

  • Kristen
    June 14, 2013 at 6:46 AM

    I’d love to try the ranch.

  • Tara S
    June 14, 2013 at 3:14 PM

    Wing sauce and ranch…there’s no such thing as a Paleo ranch, I swear!

  • Tara S
    June 14, 2013 at 3:15 PM

    I cyberstalk you on FB, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest…all of em.

  • Shannon Offerman
    June 14, 2013 at 8:45 PM

    I can’t wait to try the ranch!

  • Shannon Offerman
    June 14, 2013 at 8:46 PM

    I follow you on all those social media sites.

  • Shannon Offerman
    June 14, 2013 at 8:46 PM

    Liked the tessamae’s page!

  • april
    June 14, 2013 at 8:49 PM

    I’m most excited to try the Hot Wing sauce, mild.

  • april
    June 14, 2013 at 8:49 PM

    I like Tessamae’s on facebook.

  • april
    June 14, 2013 at 8:50 PM

    I follow you on facebook, twitter, and pinterest.

  • Marie Nicole Hemphill
    June 17, 2013 at 1:33 PM

    I am most excited to try the mild Hot Wing Sauce!

  • Marie Nicole Hemphill
    June 17, 2013 at 1:33 PM

    I follow you on Facebook and Pinterest.

  • Marie Nicole Hemphill
    June 17, 2013 at 1:34 PM

    I like Tessamaes on Facebook.

  • Shari
    June 18, 2013 at 7:08 PM

    I would love to try the Hot Wing sauce! And the Ranch!