Uncategorized

Review: The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook, a GIVEAWAY, and a Recipe!

Hi there! Katy here, Assistant and Content Coordinator for the Paleo Parents. Usually I don’t do book reviews because we have a whole team of reviewers, however we have had so many books to review lately that I got the opportunity to do this one. I have to say, I was really excited to receive my copy of The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook, by Mickey Trescott, the blogger behind autoimmune-paleo.com. 

My usual everyday cooking tends to be heavy on nightshade and seed based spices. After I went to French culinary school, I decided to do my externship at a fine dining restaurant that had a Tex-Mex style of cooking due to its Mexican born head chef. I had learned all about the classics, and I wanted to push myself to learn different flavors. I did learn a new style of cooking, and those flavors have quickly become my go-to spices. Well, its time I learn to push myself again to learn how to flavor my everyday cooking with less potentially inflammatory seasonings.

 

AIP Cookbook Review COLLAGE

Mickey’s beautiful book was the perfect resource. I loved it’s simple, clean, and uncluttered layout for the recipes, and I also really appreciated the guides in the beginning of the book that have lists of the allowed foods and the foods to avoid. While The Paleo Approach is an exhaustive resource that is very detailed about everything concerning Autoimmune conditions and the foods that aggravate them, Mickey’s book provides short, and to-the-point explanations with a few simple guidelines, and then she gets right to the food. In my opinion, the two books go well together, especially for a newbie. Mickey’s book explains all the basics, and makes the method in Sarah’s book seem simple and approachable. Once a newbie is comfortable with the basics of the Autoimmune Protocol, they can learn more about all the details and the why’s in Sarah’s book.

And what was my honest opinion about the recipes? I loved them, and for quite a few reasons. Because I have a chef’s background, I rarely follow a recipe to a “T” when its not a baking recipe, but rather I collect cookbooks as reference materials and for inspiration. Mickey’s book was perfect for this. Let me show you what I mean:

The first recipes I made of hers were the Citrus-Avocado Dressing, the Mediterranean Salmon Salad, and the Citrus- Spinach Salad. The flavors all went so well together that I served them together for lunch one day for me and my husband. That’s one of the main things I loved about the cookbook – Many of the recipes go well together and make balanced meals. 

salmon salad arial with words

 

The only changes/tweaks I made to her original recipes were to add finely diced red onions and some fresh grated garlic added to the chopped Mediterranean Salmon Salad (pg.153), but those are just because of personal tastes. I love red onions and use them in almost everything, and my husband is a self proclaimed garlic-aholic. He loves garlic so much that he is always willing to peel the garlic cloves so that I use more of it. Peeling garlic is my least favorite thing to do while cooking. It makes my fingers sticky! We both really loved the Avocado-Citrus Dressing (pg. 115), and my husband also insisted that I add garlic to that too. Again, just his personal taste. 😉

From the salad section of the book, I also made two more recipes, because it has been extremely warm this week, and during the warmer months, I tend to make salads almost everyday. My husband insisted that I make the Radish and Jicama Tabbouli Salad (pg. 142). He loves the spicy-ness of radishes, the crunch of jicama, and we both can’t get enough of any type of olives, but especially kalamata olives. The salad also has chopped cucumbers and carrots – talk about #morevegetablesthanavegetarian! And so colorful!

tabouli salad with words

 

I really loved the flavors in this chopped salad, and also its versatility. It could be eaten alone, used as a topping on leafy greens, or on top of a lamb burger, sauteed piece of fresh fish, or mixed with a can of Wild Caught Tuna in Olive Oil. Again, I tweaked the recipe a bit and added finely chopped red onions and minced garlic. Mickey has kindly let us share this recipe today!

Radish and Jicama Tabbouli

Total Time: 15 minutes

Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch parsley, chopped
  • 1 bunch radishes, finely chopped
  • 1/2 pound jicama (about 1/2 a small), peeled and finely chopped
  • 2 carrots, finely chopped
  • 1 cucumber, finely chopped,
  • 8 kalamata olives, minced
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh mint
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced (about 1 tablespoon)
  • Sea Salt to Taste
  • Katy's additions:
  • 1/4 of a red onion, finely diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, grated on a Microplane grater

Instructions

  1. Combine the parsley, radishes, jicama, carrots, cucumber, olives, mint (and red onions, if using) in a large bowl.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk the olive oil, vinegar, lemon ice, and salt.
  3. Toss the dressing with the salad and serve.
http://realeverything.com/review-the-autoimmune-paleo-cookbook-2/

 

The last meal I wanted to make out of the cookbook were the Garlic-Sage Chicken Patties (pr. 210) to serve alongside Cabbage Slaw with Olive-Avocado Dressing (pg. 145), but alas, when I opened the packages of chicken thighs that I had bought to grind using my Meat Grinder Kitchen Aid attachment, the chicken had spoiled. YUCK! What was I going to do for dinner?

I quickly flipped through the seafood section of the book, because I had some wild-caught Mahi-Mahi in my freezer that I knew would thaw quickly. I landed on the Mediterranean Salmon on page 242 and I decided that this recipe would work just fine with Mahi-Mahi. I already had all the ingredients already, because they overlapped with the ingredients in the tabbouli and the Mediterranean Salmon Salad. The recipe calls for you to make a tapenade of sorts with kalamata olives, parsley, and lemon juice, and then simply spread it over the fish and bake. Again, I added some garlic (I told you- we can’t get enough!), and instead of chopping the ingredients by hand per the recipe, I used my mini food processor to make quick work of the job. The recipe worked beautifully, even though I changed the type of fish, again displaying the wonderful versatility of the recipes in this book. 

Mediterranean Mahi Mahi

 

I went ahead and served the Mahi-Mahi alongside the Cabbage Slaw with Olive-Avocado Dressing (pg. 145).

Slaw arial with words

My husband and I both loved this light, citrusy slaw, but we also thought it would be better served with a good, fatty piece of pork, perhaps like a Slow Cooker Kahlua Pork.

I really appreciate that this book is filled with plenty of inexpensive recipes, made from everyday ingredients that you can find in most grocery stores. While there are a few recipes here and there that call for some things you may not always have on hand, that’s not the norm. I also really liked that many of the ingredients overlapped in recipes. That’s valuable to me because I didn’t have to buy lots of ingredients that could only be used in one recipe, which made it easy to make quite a few dishes with a limited budget. Lots of times, when people buy a paleo cookbook, that’s a main complaint – that the recipes are too expensive to make on a regular basis, but that is definitely not the case with The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook. I’m really happy to have this cookbook in my collection, because it shows that you really can cook and AIP meal with lots of flavor, and feel satisfied, instead of deprived.

I’m looking forward to cooking my way through this cookbook and learning more ways to cook the AIP way, and I highly suggest it to anyone interested in exploring the Autoimmune Protocol.

AIP Cookbook Review GIVEAWAY

 

GIVEAWAY: Win one and we guarantee you’ll LOVE it!

How do you enter? Simple!

To enter:

Up to 5 entries per person. No purchase required!

Remember Matt’s rules of giveaways:

  1. Please use a valid email address when entering. I cannot use my dowsing rods to attempt to find which bytes form your contact address!
  2. Please follow all the rules so I don’t get frustrated by invalid entries. Nothing makes more of a sad panda than picking a winner who I have to disqualify.
  3. Please respond within 48 hours or I will have to pick a new winner! I have a certain set of skills that make me a nightmare to people who don’t respond: the ability to randomly draw again.
  4. Please be a US resident. My mana is too low to cast a Teleportation Spell!

Giveaway will end on Saturday, April 19 , 2014.

 

You Might Also Like

  • Janna
    April 12, 2014 at 11:31 AM

    I am subscribed to your newsletter 🙂

  • Janna
    April 12, 2014 at 11:32 AM

    I like Autoimmune Paleo on Facebook.

  • Janna
    April 12, 2014 at 11:32 AM

    I follow you on Facebook!

  • Jordan Ferguson
    April 12, 2014 at 11:46 AM

    I am subscribed to the newsletter!

  • Jordan Ferguson
    April 12, 2014 at 11:46 AM

    I follow you Pinterest, Facebook, & Instagram!

  • Jordan Ferguson
    April 12, 2014 at 11:47 AM

    I headed on over & liked Autoimmu7ne Paleo on FB!

  • Patty Vazquez
    April 12, 2014 at 11:49 AM

    I am subscribed to your newsletter!

  • Patty Vazquez
    April 12, 2014 at 11:49 AM

    I liked Autoimmune Paleo FB page

  • Patty Vazquez
    April 12, 2014 at 11:51 AM

    I follow you on Pinterest, Facebook, & Instagram and Youtube!

  • natashasmith
    April 12, 2014 at 12:08 PM

    I’m a subscriber!

  • Betty Jo Martin
    April 12, 2014 at 12:08 PM

    I’m a subscriber to your newsletter.

  • Susan Kyle
    April 12, 2014 at 12:08 PM

    I am a newbie and thoroughly enjoying te experience, this book can only enhance my journey. I follow you on Facebook, pin interest

  • natashasmith
    April 12, 2014 at 12:09 PM

    I like the Autoimmune Paleo page 🙂

  • natashasmith
    April 12, 2014 at 12:09 PM

    I follow you on Facebook.

  • natashasmith
    April 12, 2014 at 12:09 PM

    …And I follow you on Twitter!

  • Betty Jo Martin
    April 12, 2014 at 12:09 PM

    I’ve liked the Autoimmune Paleo page.

  • natashasmith
    April 12, 2014 at 12:09 PM

    And I also follow you on Pinterest. Yay!

  • Betty Jo Martin
    April 12, 2014 at 12:14 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest.

  • Robin Clooney Richardson
    April 12, 2014 at 12:39 PM

    I have always followed you on FB and Pinterest!! 🙂
    I liked Autoimmune Paleo!!
    I already get your newsletter 🙂
    Please enter me 4X!!! LOL!!

  • lovelyleti78
    April 12, 2014 at 12:42 PM

    I liked the Auto Immune Paleo on Facebook

  • lovelyleti78
    April 12, 2014 at 12:42 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Facebook

  • lovelyleti78
    April 12, 2014 at 12:43 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Pintrest

  • lovelyleti78
    April 12, 2014 at 12:43 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Instagram

  • lovelyleti78
    April 12, 2014 at 12:43 PM

    I Follow Paleo Parents on Twitter

  • lovelyleti78
    April 12, 2014 at 12:45 PM

    I can’t believe I didn’t know about the newsletter. I am now subscribed.

  • JLD
    April 12, 2014 at 12:52 PM

    I like autoimmune paleo, i follow both of you on facebook and I get your newsletter. I really could use this one,,, my health is falling apart fast.

  • Brittany S
    April 12, 2014 at 1:30 PM

    I subscribed to your newsletter! I love the recipes you post here, and have ordered your book, “Beyond Bacon”

  • Brittany S
    April 12, 2014 at 1:31 PM

    I have ‘liked’ the autoimmune protocol page – I love all the information she shares about healing!

  • Brittany S
    April 12, 2014 at 1:32 PM

    I follow PaleoParents on Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest 🙂

  • Brittany S
    April 12, 2014 at 1:36 PM

    I have left a review on Amazon of the Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook

  • Brittany S
    April 12, 2014 at 1:41 PM

    I left a review on itunes for The Paleo View!

  • Erin Fisk
    April 12, 2014 at 1:53 PM

    I like The Autoimmune Protocol Page!

  • Erin Fisk
    April 12, 2014 at 1:53 PM

    I follow PaleoParents on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and Twitter!

  • Erin Fisk
    April 12, 2014 at 1:54 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter.

  • Erin Fisk
    April 12, 2014 at 1:56 PM

    I reviewed the podcast in iTunes. It’s one of my favorite podcasts!

  • Victoria Norman
    April 12, 2014 at 2:08 PM

    I am subscribed to your newsletter

  • Victoria Norman
    April 12, 2014 at 2:09 PM

    I liked the Autoimmune Paleo Facebook page

  • Elisa
    April 12, 2014 at 3:16 PM

    I’m a subscriber!

  • Elisa
    April 12, 2014 at 3:16 PM

    I follow you on FB

  • Elisa
    April 12, 2014 at 3:16 PM

    I follow you on twitter (@ElisaGIH)

  • Elisa
    April 12, 2014 at 3:16 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest

  • Alissa King
    April 12, 2014 at 3:26 PM

    I get your newsletter!

  • Alissa King
    April 12, 2014 at 3:26 PM

    I follow you on facebook!

  • Alissa King
    April 12, 2014 at 3:27 PM

    I like autoimmune paleo!

  • Alanna White
    April 12, 2014 at 3:33 PM

    I subscribe to newsletter, like autoimmune paleo and follow on fb.

  • Jennifer Wynn
    April 12, 2014 at 5:01 PM

    I follow on Facebook!

  • Jennifer Wynn
    April 12, 2014 at 5:02 PM

    I liked the autoimmune paleo page!

  • jcblank
    April 12, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    I am subscribed to your newsletter. 🙂

  • jcblank
    April 12, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    I follow you on Facebook.

  • jcblank
    April 12, 2014 at 7:03 PM

    I follow Autoimmune Paleo on Facebook.

  • Vicky M
    April 12, 2014 at 7:58 PM

    I subscribe to the newsletter!

  • Vicky M
    April 12, 2014 at 7:59 PM

    I like Autoimmune Paleo on Facebook

  • Vicky M
    April 12, 2014 at 7:59 PM

    I follow paleo parents on Facebook

  • kim
    April 12, 2014 at 10:26 PM

    I subscribed to your newsletter

  • kim
    April 12, 2014 at 10:27 PM

    I follow paleo parents on fb

  • Becca Ferguson
    April 12, 2014 at 11:02 PM

    I liked auttomimmune paleo on facebook

  • gretchen
    April 13, 2014 at 9:07 AM

    I am subscribed to your email newsletter.

  • gretchen
    April 13, 2014 at 9:07 AM

    I liked the Autoimmune Paleo Facebook page.

  • gretchen
    April 13, 2014 at 9:08 AM

    I liked the Paleo Parents Facebook page.

  • gretchen
    April 13, 2014 at 9:10 AM

    I am following Paleo Parents on Twitter

  • gretchen
    April 13, 2014 at 9:11 AM

    I am following Paleo Parents on Instagram

  • Braelynne
    April 13, 2014 at 10:18 AM

    I follow on Facebook

  • Braelynne
    April 13, 2014 at 10:18 AM

    I follow on Twitter

  • Braelynne
    April 13, 2014 at 10:18 AM

    I follow on Pinterest

  • Braelynne
    April 13, 2014 at 10:18 AM

    I follow on Instagram

  • Sarah
    April 13, 2014 at 10:40 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Sarah
    April 13, 2014 at 10:41 AM

    I follow you on all social media =)

  • Sarah
    April 13, 2014 at 10:41 AM

    I like the Autoimmune Paleo page

  • Rebecca G
    April 13, 2014 at 10:51 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter and LOVE it!

  • Rebecca G
    April 13, 2014 at 10:52 AM

    I already like the “autoimmune paleo” page on FB. 🙂

  • Rebecca G
    April 13, 2014 at 10:53 AM

    I follow you on pinterest and facebook. Thanks for doing this giveaway!

  • Nicole
    April 13, 2014 at 12:24 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter.

  • Nicole
    April 13, 2014 at 12:24 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Twitter.

  • Elizabeth G.
    April 13, 2014 at 12:57 PM

    I subscribe to the Paleo Parents Newsletter.

  • Elizabeth G.
    April 13, 2014 at 12:57 PM

    I Like Autoimmune Paleo on Facebook.

  • Elizabeth G.
    April 13, 2014 at 12:57 PM

    I Like Paleo Parents on Facebookl.

  • Elizabeth G.
    April 13, 2014 at 12:57 PM

    Following on Twitter.

  • superdumb
    April 13, 2014 at 5:07 PM

    I’m a subscriber!

  • Mary
    April 13, 2014 at 8:15 PM

    I Like Automimmune Paleo on Facebook!!!

  • Mary
    April 13, 2014 at 8:15 PM

    I follow Autoimmune Paleo on Facebook

  • Mary
    April 13, 2014 at 8:16 PM

    I follow Autoimmune Paleo on Pinterest (different ID)

  • Tracy Yndestad
    April 13, 2014 at 8:43 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Tracy Y
    April 13, 2014 at 8:48 PM

    I like autoimmune paleo

  • Tracy Y
    April 13, 2014 at 8:48 PM

    i follow you on twitter

  • Tracy Y
    April 13, 2014 at 8:49 PM

    i follow you on facebook

  • Tracy Y
    April 13, 2014 at 8:49 PM

    I follow you on pintrest

  • Tracy Y
    April 13, 2014 at 8:49 PM

    I follow you on instagram

  • Tracy Y
    April 13, 2014 at 8:49 PM

    I have reviewed Eat like a dinosaur on amazon

  • Tracy Y
    April 13, 2014 at 8:56 PM

    I tried to leave a new review in itunes but it wouldn’t let me.

  • Cassandra Raney
    April 13, 2014 at 10:23 PM

    I am a subscriber to the newsletter!

  • Cassandra Raney
    April 13, 2014 at 10:24 PM

    I reviewed The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook on Amazon!

  • Cassandra Raney
    April 13, 2014 at 10:24 PM

    I “like” the Autoimmune Paleo FB page

  • Cassandra Raney
    April 13, 2014 at 10:24 PM

    I “like” you on Facebook… 🙂

  • Stephanie Donnelly
    April 14, 2014 at 8:04 AM

    I follow you on Facebook and Instagram

  • Stephanie Donnelly
    April 14, 2014 at 8:05 AM

    I liked the autoimmune paleo page

  • Sara
    April 14, 2014 at 9:48 AM

    I’m a newsletter subscriber.

  • Kiersten
    April 14, 2014 at 1:28 PM

    I subscribe to the newsletter

  • Kiersten
    April 14, 2014 at 1:28 PM

    I like the autoimmune paleo page

  • rebecca
    April 14, 2014 at 3:53 PM

    I am an email subscriber.

  • rebecca
    April 14, 2014 at 3:53 PM

    I like Autoimmune Paleo facebook page.

  • rebecca
    April 14, 2014 at 3:53 PM

    I like the paleo parents fb page.

  • rebecca
    April 14, 2014 at 3:53 PM

    I follow you on twitter. (rebeccalynn78)

  • april
    April 14, 2014 at 11:13 PM

    I follow you on twitter, pinterest, and facebook.

  • Jennifer Haslinger
    April 15, 2014 at 2:03 PM

    Hiya! I follow you on twitter, pinterest, facebook, and instagram. I liked Autoimmune Paleo’s Facebook page as well as her Pinterest page. I LOVE YOU GUYS!! Stacy is my shero! 🙂

  • Hayley
    April 15, 2014 at 3:16 PM

    I like autoimmune paleo on fb

  • Hayley
    April 15, 2014 at 3:16 PM

    I follow paleo parents on twitter

  • Hayley
    April 15, 2014 at 3:16 PM

    I like paleo parents on fb

  • Hayley
    April 15, 2014 at 3:17 PM

    I follow paleo parents on instagram

  • Hayley
    April 15, 2014 at 3:17 PM

    I follow paleo parents on pinterest

  • Sally Kanehen
    April 16, 2014 at 1:53 AM

    I subscribed to your newsletter!

  • Sally Kanehen
    April 16, 2014 at 1:53 AM

    I liked autoimmune paleo on fb 🙂

  • Sally Kanehen
    April 16, 2014 at 1:54 AM

    I follow you on FB and pinterest 🙂

  • Matt
    April 16, 2014 at 4:29 AM

    Subscribed to newsletter

  • Matt
    April 16, 2014 at 4:30 AM

    Liked autoimmune page

  • Matt
    April 16, 2014 at 4:35 AM

    Left a comment on facebook

  • Jennifer
    April 16, 2014 at 5:50 AM

    Get the paleo parents newsletter. Liked autoimmune paleo page and I follow paleo parents on insta and fb! Can’t get enough paleo parents and Stacy!

  • Steph S.
    April 16, 2014 at 9:13 PM

    Subscribed to your newsletter.

  • Steph S.
    April 16, 2014 at 9:13 PM

    Following Paleo Parents on Pinterest.

  • Steph S.
    April 16, 2014 at 9:14 PM

    Liked the Autoimmune Paleo page on FB.

  • Debbie Huewe
    April 16, 2014 at 11:30 PM

    i liked the review for the Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook.

  • Laura
    April 17, 2014 at 4:47 PM

    i subscribe to your newsletter!

  • Laura
    April 17, 2014 at 4:47 PM

    i follow PP on facebook

  • Laura
    April 17, 2014 at 4:47 PM

    i follow PP on instagram

  • Savanah
    April 17, 2014 at 8:43 PM

    I follow AutoImmune Paleo on FB

  • Savanah
    April 17, 2014 at 8:45 PM

    I follow PP on FB

  • Savanah
    April 17, 2014 at 8:46 PM

    I follow PP on Twitter

  • Savanah
    April 17, 2014 at 8:47 PM

    I follow PP on Instagram

  • Savanah
    April 17, 2014 at 8:47 PM

    I follow PP on Pinterest

  • Savanah
    April 17, 2014 at 8:48 PM

    I subscribed to your newsletter

  • Tracy Gregory
    April 18, 2014 at 12:35 AM

    I already subscribe to the newsletter! It’s fab of course! 🙂

  • Tracy Gregory
    April 18, 2014 at 12:37 AM

    I just liked autoimmune paleo on FB- I don’t know how I hadn’t already! I have been to her page a few times!

  • Tracy Gregory
    April 18, 2014 at 12:38 AM

    I follow PP on Facebook and Instagram- I also follow The podcast though that really isn’t social media, eh?

  • Courtney @ Cookin' Up Life
    April 18, 2014 at 11:48 AM

    I am subscribed to the newsletter 🙂

  • Courtney @ Cookin' Up Life
    April 18, 2014 at 11:50 AM

    I liked Autoimmune Paleo!

  • Courtney @ Cookin' Up Life
    April 18, 2014 at 11:50 AM

    I am a fan on FB!

  • Courtney @ Cookin' Up Life
    April 18, 2014 at 11:52 AM

    I am a follower on Twitter!

  • Courtney @ Cookin' Up Life
    April 18, 2014 at 11:52 AM

    I, of course, follow on Instagram!

  • Courtney @ Cookin' Up Life
    April 18, 2014 at 11:53 AM

    I follow your boards on Pinterest!

  • Annette
    April 18, 2014 at 1:30 PM

    I subscribe via email

  • Annette
    April 18, 2014 at 1:31 PM

    I liked you on Facebook. waytoomanycats (@) gmail (dot) com

  • Annette
    April 18, 2014 at 1:33 PM

    I liked Autoimmune Paleo on Facebook.waytoomanycats (@) gmail (dot) com

  • Annette
    April 18, 2014 at 1:33 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest. waytoomanycats (@) gmail (dot) com

  • Annette
    April 18, 2014 at 1:34 PM

    I follow you on Twitter. waytoomanycats (@) gmail (dot) com

  • Jillian
    April 18, 2014 at 1:50 PM

    I’m a subscriber!

  • Kathryn
    April 18, 2014 at 3:00 PM

    Hi! So glad I found your website! Our daughter was diagnosed with an
    autoimmune disorder just this week and we are very interested in using
    the autoimmune protocol. Thanks for the info! 🙂

  • Jessica K
    April 19, 2014 at 9:52 AM

    Already subscribed to newsletter.

  • Jessica K
    April 19, 2014 at 9:53 AM

    Already a “liker” of the Autoimmune Paleo page

  • Jessica K
    April 19, 2014 at 9:53 AM

    I follow you on the website and Facebook, not a user of the others.