Uncategorized

Review and a GIVEAWAY: Sexy by Nature by Stefani Ruper of Paleo for Women

Today our team member, Courtney, is reviewing the highly anticipated Sexy by Nature by the amazing Stefani Ruper of the blog Paleo for Women. 

Stefani Ruper is equally accomplished as an Ivy League chemist, an international go-go dancer, and a nationally renowned eating disorder counselor. She is the author of the paleo woman’s health manifesto Sexy by Nature: The Whole Foods Solution to Radiant Health, Lifelong Sex Appeal, and Soaring Confidence, as well as the voice behind the Paleo for Women blog, the first ever body image and self love podcast Live. Love. Eat., and a self-love YouTube Channel. You can find her at any of those places, on Facebook, or on Twitter.

Stefani holds degrees from Dartmouth College and Boston University. She is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in philosophy and dancing obsessively in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

We have loved having Stefani on our own podcast FOUR times (check those out here, herehere and here ) because she is just that great. She is a wealth of knowledge about women’s health, and we can’t get enough of her personal style when it comes to learning to love yourself and your body through positive thoughts as well as whole foods. She’s feisty, flirty, beautiful and not afraid to challenge women in the best way possible.  I love that before she’d even written this book she helped me to better appreciate my body for what it can do, what it has done and what it is for – rather than what it looks like. She also gives the best hugs and generally makes you feel awesome… and that’s what this book is. Stefani has figured out how to give every person that buys this book a giant hug, tell them they’re awesome and help them love themselves – what could be better?! – Stacy

 

sexy by nature cover

Sexy by Nature provides the keys to…

A naturally slim waistline; clear, radiant skin; vibrant energy; a pain-free menstrual cycle; a ravenous libido; lifelong youthfulness; fertility; birth control; self-love; sex appeal; and fearless confidence.”

 

Sign me up. Am I right, ladies?!?

 

In her book, Stefani Ruper empowers women with a clear, five-step program to health and sexiness.  As a woman on my own path to health, I am always looking for that connection to other women that share my journey, my struggles, and my successes. Stefani writes in a way that is friendly and smart. I really enjoyed the layout of the book, and found the five steps to be easy enough to implement, and radical enough to challenge my perceptions of beauty and confidence.

The Five Steps:

 

Step 1: Trailblaze

 

I love this step. Stefani takes the “old” rules of being a woman and throws them out the window. She challenges us to let go of the ideal of beauty that bombards us on every billboard and in every magazine and TV show. She counters that confidence is sexy, that self-assurance is sexy, that being “unashamedly YOU” is sexy. She then throws out the notion that women should restrict ourselves (our calories, our choices) to achieve these impossible beauty ideals. Furthermore, she asks us to stop punishing ourselves when we don’t meet these expectations. Instead she implores us to nourish and love ourselves; that our bodies aren’t meant to live at war with our sense of self.  If we are nourishing our bodies and accepting of ourselves, we will be in harmony, which leads to great health.  But how do we get there if we’ve listened to all the experts, followed the diets, run like hamsters on the treadmill, taken all the prescriptions, and bought all the potions and creams that society tells us will unite our body and self? Stefani says, question everything. Question these old rules and listen to our bodies. That the heart of real health is listening, loving, and nourishing our bodies naturally.

 

Step 2: Nourish

 

As someone who has been Paleo for nearly three years, this step made complete sense to me. I’ve been living it for a long time.  But Stefani does something really wonderful in this section; she explains nourishment in a way that is both scientific and approachable. She explains different types of diet and the pros and cons of each. She starts with the basic question, “What is natural?” and debunks the claims that packaged foods can be natural.  For a woman who has struggled with the Standard American Diet and tried to lose weight through prepackaged meals, low-fat snacks, and “diet” foods, this step will be incredibly enlightening. From gut health, to sugar, to macro nutrients, Stefani explains how foods affect our bodies, our immune system, and our reproductive health. She carefully explains the bad and the good.  Stefani not only tells us to focus on the quality of foods, but the appropriate ratios and quantities.  She focuses on avoiding restrictions and emotional eating, but also being tolerant and forgiving when we make a less-than-stellar choice.

 

Step 3: Live

 

I know that this is the step I struggle with the most.  I’d venture that the same holds true for most women. Our ancestors got plenty of exercise and sleep, ate when hungry, got enough sunlight, and lived simply.  The modern woman lives anything but a simple life.  But Stefani points out that we are capable of designing our own life, and making these things a priority will result in greater health and happiness.  Stefani outlines the aspects of our lives that contribute to overall health.  From stress, to sex, to sunlight and strength, Stefani gives us the reasons to prioritize these aspects of our life, and the means to do so.

 

Step 4: Overcome

 

I think this is an incredibly helpful section. Stefani puts the power in our hands.  She advises us to find the issue we would like to address (weight-loss, fertility, menopause, energy, libido, pain) and explains the issue, the possible resolutions, and the steps you can take to overcome the problem.  She empowers us to partner with doctors or health professionals to work on these issues. She implores, “Don’t expect perfection, but expect kick-ass results.” With this she again releases us from that perfectionist behavior. Overcoming obstacles on the way to being Sexy by Nature may take years of diligence and forgiveness, but it’s well worth it.

Step 5: Strut

 

Stefani brings all the work from the previous steps into step 5.  We’ve changed our outlook and our relationship with food, made progress on the obstacles that have plagued us.  We’ve learned to do so with love and acceptance of our bodies. Now, in Step 5, Stefani lays out the three components to being fully Sexy by Nature.  She explains how self-love, self-determined sex appeal, and fearlessness will give us the power to love the skin we are in. We will follow the path to “self-loving sex goddess.”

 

Like many women, I struggle with self-confidence and self-love. But after reading Stefani’s book, I’m aware of my negative self talk and unhealthy habits, and I’m actively trying to change them.  I’m also learning to forgive myself and to accept my body.  Thank you, Stefani, for a smart and powerful guide to optimal health for women!

want to win a copy

GIVEAWAY: Win a copy and we guarantee you’ll love it!

How do you enter? Simple!

To enter:

Up to 5 entries per person. No purchase required!

Remember Matt’s rules of giveaways:

  1. Please use a valid email address when entering. I cannot use my dowsing rods to attempt to find which bytes form your contact address!
  2. Please follow all the rules so I don’t get frustrated by invalid entries. Nothing makes more of a sad panda than picking a winner who I have to disqualify.
  3. Please respond within 48 hours or I will have to pick a new winner! I have a certain set of skills that make me a nightmare to people who don’t respond: the ability to randomly draw again.
  4. Please be a US resident. My mana is too low to cast a Teleportation Spell!

Giveaway will end on Friday, March 21, 2014.

 

 

You Might Also Like

  • Laura M
    March 18, 2014 at 10:25 AM

    I follow on Twitter!! This book looks awesome !

  • rebecca
    March 18, 2014 at 10:51 AM

    i am an email subscriber

  • rebecca
    March 18, 2014 at 10:52 AM

    I like the Paleo For Women facebook page.

  • rebecca
    March 18, 2014 at 10:52 AM

    I like your page on facebook.

  • Amanda M (@mommygorun)
    March 18, 2014 at 11:22 AM

    I’m an email subscriber

  • Amanda M (@mommygorun)
    March 18, 2014 at 11:23 AM

    I liked the Paleo for Women Facebook page

  • Amanda M (@mommygorun)
    March 18, 2014 at 11:23 AM

    I stalk you, I mean follow you on all the social media- facebook, twitter, instagram (I love Stacy’s strongwoman posts) and pinterest!

  • lisa
    March 18, 2014 at 11:26 AM

    I follow you on pinterest.

  • lisa
    March 18, 2014 at 11:27 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Priscilla
    March 18, 2014 at 11:30 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter! 🙂

  • Priscilla
    March 18, 2014 at 11:31 AM

    I like the Paleo for Women Facebook page. 🙂

  • Priscilla
    March 18, 2014 at 11:31 AM

    I follow you on Facebook! 🙂

  • Priscilla
    March 18, 2014 at 11:32 AM

    I follow you on Twitter (@prisigtr). 🙂

  • Michaela Ahern
    March 18, 2014 at 11:34 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter!

  • Michaela Ahern
    March 18, 2014 at 11:34 AM

    I like The Paleo For Women FB page

  • Michaela Ahern
    March 18, 2014 at 11:34 AM

    I follow you on Facebook!

  • Marjorie
    March 18, 2014 at 11:44 AM

    I follow you on Facebook!

  • Marjorie
    March 18, 2014 at 11:44 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter!

  • Marjorie
    March 18, 2014 at 11:44 AM

    I like the Paleo for Women Facebook page!

  • Karoline
    March 18, 2014 at 11:49 AM

    I am a fan of Paleo for Woman in Facebook. Also follow you on Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest.

  • Steph C.
    March 18, 2014 at 12:43 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter.

  • Steph C.
    March 18, 2014 at 12:43 PM

    I follow on Facebook.

  • Steph C.
    March 18, 2014 at 12:44 PM

    …and Instagram. 🙂

  • Steph C.
    March 18, 2014 at 12:44 PM

    …and Pinterest. 🙂

  • Steph C.
    March 18, 2014 at 12:44 PM

    …and Twitter. 🙂

  • Steph C.
    March 18, 2014 at 12:45 PM

    I Liked the Paleo for Women Facebook page, too.

  • Stefani Ruper
    March 18, 2014 at 12:46 PM

    This was a beautiful review, Courtney. Thank you so, very much. I hope you really did enjoy it, and please be in touch if you ever need anything. 🙂

  • Brittany
    March 18, 2014 at 1:10 PM

    I subscribed to the newsletter!

  • MckTalkSoon
    March 18, 2014 at 1:10 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter!

  • MckTalkSoon
    March 18, 2014 at 1:10 PM

    I liked The Paleo for Women Facebook page!

  • MckTalkSoon
    March 18, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    I follow you guys on FB, IG, and Twitter.

  • Brittany
    March 18, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    I liked the paleo for women facebook page!

  • Brittany
    March 18, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    I follow you guys on Facebook!

  • Brittany
    March 18, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    I follow you guys on instagram!

  • Brittany
    March 18, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    I also follow you guys on twitter

  • Brittany
    March 18, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    Annnd I follow you on Pinterest!

  • Kim H.
    March 18, 2014 at 1:19 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter..

  • Kim H.
    March 18, 2014 at 1:20 PM

    I liked the Paleo for women Facebook page.

  • Kim H.
    March 18, 2014 at 1:21 PM

    I like the Paleo Patents Facebook page.

  • Kim H.
    March 18, 2014 at 1:21 PM

    I follow you on Instagram.

  • Jill Kees
    March 18, 2014 at 1:21 PM

    I follow you on Instagram!

  • Kim H.
    March 18, 2014 at 1:21 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest.

  • Alejandra Jolodosky
    March 18, 2014 at 2:00 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Alejandra Jolodosky
    March 18, 2014 at 2:00 PM

    I like Paleo for women on fb

  • Alejandra Jolodosky
    March 18, 2014 at 2:01 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest

  • Alejandra Jolodosky
    March 18, 2014 at 2:01 PM

    I follow you on instagram

  • Alejandra Jolodosky
    March 18, 2014 at 2:01 PM

    I follow you on fb

  • Alejandra Jolodosky
    March 18, 2014 at 2:01 PM

    I follow you on twitter

  • Renee Vaughn
    March 18, 2014 at 2:08 PM

    I’m already a subscriber! Thank you sooooo much for the break down! I’ve seen several people reading it, but nobody has talked about it in this much detail.

  • Britney W.
    March 18, 2014 at 2:11 PM

    I’m a subscriber!

  • Renee Vaughn
    March 18, 2014 at 2:11 PM

    I liked on FB, thanks for showing me a new friend!

  • Britney W.
    March 18, 2014 at 2:11 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Facebook

  • Britney W.
    March 18, 2014 at 2:11 PM

    I follow the Paleo for Women Facebook page

  • Renee Vaughn
    March 18, 2014 at 2:12 PM

    I follow on IG, FB, & Pinterest, as well as bloglovin’

  • Britney W.
    March 18, 2014 at 2:13 PM

    I follow the Paleo Parents on twitter

  • Heather LaRoy
    March 18, 2014 at 2:27 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter!

  • Heather LaRoy
    March 18, 2014 at 2:27 PM

    I liked the Paleo for Women Facebook Page

  • Heather LaRoy
    March 18, 2014 at 2:27 PM

    I follow you on Facebook

  • Kiersten
    March 18, 2014 at 3:35 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Kiersten
    March 18, 2014 at 3:35 PM

    I like the Paleo for Women facebook page

  • Kiersten
    March 18, 2014 at 3:35 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on facebook

  • Jessica Lagios
    March 18, 2014 at 3:44 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on FB.

  • Sara G
    March 18, 2014 at 4:18 PM

    Subscribed to the newsletter.

  • Sara G
    March 18, 2014 at 4:19 PM

    Like Paleo for Women.

  • Sara G
    March 18, 2014 at 4:19 PM

    Follow you guys on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

  • Kim Jordan
    March 18, 2014 at 4:56 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter.

  • Kim Jordan
    March 18, 2014 at 4:56 PM

    I like The Paleo For Women FB page.

  • Rosalinde Czaja
    March 18, 2014 at 4:57 PM

    I subscribe to your news letter!

  • Rosalinde Czaja
    March 18, 2014 at 4:58 PM

    I like the paleo for women Facebook page!

  • Rosalinde Czaja
    March 18, 2014 at 4:59 PM

    I follow the paleoparents on Facebook!

  • Julia
    March 18, 2014 at 5:00 PM

    I’m a subscriber

  • Julia
    March 18, 2014 at 5:00 PM

    I follow you on FB, Pinterest & Twitter

  • Kelly
    March 18, 2014 at 5:06 PM

    I like paleo parents on facebook

  • Kelly
    March 18, 2014 at 5:08 PM

    I like the paleo for women facebook page.

  • BarbT
    March 18, 2014 at 5:22 PM

    I signed up for the newsletter!

  • BarbT
    March 18, 2014 at 5:23 PM

    I liked the paleo for women facebook page!

  • savannah
    March 18, 2014 at 5:25 PM

    I want to read this book so much! I subscribed to the newsletter and can’t wait to read more! Thanks for all the fantastic info guys!

  • disfordelicate
    March 18, 2014 at 5:27 PM

    I subscribe to the Paleo Parents newsletter.

  • disfordelicate
    March 18, 2014 at 5:27 PM

    I follow Paleo for Women on Facebook.

  • disfordelicate
    March 18, 2014 at 5:28 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Facebook.

  • disfordelicate
    March 18, 2014 at 5:29 PM

    I follow @paleoparents on Twitter.

  • disfordelicate
    March 18, 2014 at 5:29 PM

    I follow @paleoparents on Instagram.

  • disfordelicate
    March 18, 2014 at 5:29 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Pinterest.

  • Jessica
    March 18, 2014 at 7:17 PM

    I have been a subscriber of your newsletter for a long while now!

  • Jessica
    March 18, 2014 at 7:18 PM

    I just liked the Paleo for Women Facebook page!

  • Jessica
    March 18, 2014 at 7:18 PM

    I follow you guys on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest!

  • Michelle
    March 18, 2014 at 7:47 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter!

  • Michelle
    March 18, 2014 at 7:48 PM

    I like Paleo for Women on facebook!

  • Michelle
    March 18, 2014 at 7:49 PM

    I follow you on fb, twitter, Instagram, Pinterest

  • GeenaS
    March 18, 2014 at 8:26 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • GeenaS
    March 18, 2014 at 8:27 PM

    I follow you on instagram

  • GeenaS
    March 18, 2014 at 8:27 PM

    I follow you on pinterest

  • GeenaS
    March 18, 2014 at 8:27 PM

    I follow you on facebook

  • Katie greenlaw
    March 18, 2014 at 8:29 PM

    I follow you on insta 🙂

  • GeenaS
    March 18, 2014 at 8:33 PM

    I like the Paleo for Women facebook page

  • Catherine Register Johnson
    March 18, 2014 at 9:07 PM

    I like Paleo for Women on Facebook, I follow you guys on Facebook and instagram, and I get your delightful newsletters 🙂 Oh, I’ve also left a review for your stellar podcast on iTunes. 🙂

  • Hayley
    March 18, 2014 at 10:28 PM

    I like Paleo for Women on fb

  • Hayley
    March 18, 2014 at 10:28 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on twitter

  • Hayley
    March 18, 2014 at 10:29 PM

    I follow Paleo parents on instagram

  • Hayley
    March 18, 2014 at 10:29 PM

    I like paleo parents on fb

  • Hayley
    March 18, 2014 at 10:29 PM

    I follow paleo parents on pinterest

  • Rebecca Chou
    March 18, 2014 at 10:48 PM

    I follow Stacey on Pinterest. And many yummy recipes have come to fruition because of that (thank you). 🙂

  • Rebecca Chou
    March 18, 2014 at 10:48 PM

    I just signed up for your newsletter.

  • Rebecca Chou
    March 18, 2014 at 10:50 PM

    I’ve reviewed Beyond Bacon on Amazon. I think I should get an extra entry for inspiring my friend to also buy it after trying the brownies I made. 😉 JK…kind of.

  • Rebecca Chou
    March 18, 2014 at 10:52 PM

    I liked Paleo for Women’s FB page.

  • Mary M in TX
    March 19, 2014 at 1:00 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter. Not sure if that is the same thing as your RSS feeds from your blog but now I’m subscribed to both.

  • Mary M in TX
    March 19, 2014 at 1:02 AM

    I like The Paleo for Women Facebook Page. YEAH.

  • Mary M in TX
    March 19, 2014 at 1:03 AM

    I like Paleo Parents on Facebook.

  • Mary M in TX
    March 19, 2014 at 1:03 AM

    I follow you on Pinterest.

  • Mary M in TX
    March 19, 2014 at 1:09 AM

    I follow @paleoparents on twitter. Btw, rafflecopter is free I think and so much easier. Just a suggestion. Great review. Loved it and can’t wait to read the book, hopefully as a winner, but I’ll buy it anyway if not. Cheers.

  • lewaletzko
    March 19, 2014 at 9:54 AM

    Love the newsletter!

  • Petra
    March 19, 2014 at 2:56 PM

    I’m a newsletter subscriber

  • Petra
    March 19, 2014 at 2:56 PM

    I like Paleo for Women on FB

  • Petra
    March 19, 2014 at 2:57 PM

    I like you on FB

  • Petra
    March 19, 2014 at 2:58 PM

    I follow you on Twitter

  • Petra
    March 19, 2014 at 2:58 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest

  • Jamie Marie Koonce
    March 19, 2014 at 4:13 PM

    I follow you and Instagram and get your newsletter.

  • Alicia
    March 19, 2014 at 4:26 PM

    subscribed to newsletter!

  • Alicia
    March 19, 2014 at 4:26 PM

    I like The Paleo for Women Facebook page!

  • Alicia
    March 19, 2014 at 4:27 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Instagram!

  • Alicia
    March 19, 2014 at 4:27 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Pinterest!

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 19, 2014 at 5:09 PM

    I subscribe to Paleo Parents Newsletter!

  • astcgirl
    March 19, 2014 at 5:09 PM

    I am already subscribed to the newsletter.

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 19, 2014 at 5:10 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Pinterest.

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 19, 2014 at 5:10 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Twitter!

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 19, 2014 at 5:10 PM

    I’m a fan of the Paleo Parents on Facebook.

  • Vanessa Davis
    March 19, 2014 at 5:10 PM

    I follow the Paleo Parents on Instagram!

  • Marianne
    March 19, 2014 at 5:14 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Pinterest!

  • Allison G.
    March 19, 2014 at 8:57 PM

    Subscribed to the newsletter

  • Meredith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:05 AM

    I already subscribe to the newsletter 🙂

  • Meredith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:05 AM

    Follow Paleo Parents on Facebook

  • Meredith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:05 AM

    I follow Paleo Parents on instagram

  • Meredith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:05 AM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Twitter

  • Meredith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:05 AM

    I like the Paleo for Women Facebook page

  • Meredith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:06 AM

    I’ve reviewed The Paleo View on iTunes

  • Rebekah
    March 20, 2014 at 11:37 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Rebekah
    March 20, 2014 at 11:37 AM

    I like the Paleo for Women FB page

  • Rebekah
    March 20, 2014 at 11:37 AM

    I follow you on FB and Twitter.

  • Aaron Myers
    March 20, 2014 at 3:55 PM

    I subscribe to the newsletter

  • Aaron Myers
    March 20, 2014 at 3:55 PM

    I follow on facebook

  • Aaron Myers
    March 20, 2014 at 3:56 PM

    I follow on twitter

  • Aaron Myers
    March 20, 2014 at 3:56 PM

    I follow on instagram

  • Aaron Myers
    March 20, 2014 at 3:56 PM

    I follow on pinterest

  • Arien G.
    March 20, 2014 at 8:53 PM

    I subscribe to the newsletter.

  • Arien G.
    March 20, 2014 at 8:53 PM

    I follow on Facebook.

  • natashasmith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:01 PM

    I’m a newsletter subscriber 🙂

  • natashasmith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:01 PM

    I like the Paleo for Women fb page 🙂

  • natashasmith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:01 PM

    I follow you on fb!

  • natashasmith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:02 PM

    And I follow on Twitter too…

  • natashasmith
    March 20, 2014 at 9:02 PM

    Didn’t know you had a Pinterest, but now I follow that too!

  • JB
    March 22, 2014 at 7:48 AM

    I subscribe to the newslettter

  • JB
    March 22, 2014 at 7:50 AM

    I follow you on ffacebook.

  • JB
    March 22, 2014 at 7:51 AM

    I follow you on instagram