Product Review & Giveaway: Big Berkey Water Filter

Since we began Paleo Parents, we’ve been increasingly and routinely asked to review books and products by people in and adjacent to the paleo community. At this point, we get so many we are unable to actually do the reviews of the products in a timely manner! That’s why we recruited the Paleo Parents Review Team to fill in the gaps.

Today we are pleased to have Monica review a Big Berkey, or more specifically a Berkey Water Filtration System. While it is common to assess nutrient intake from the foods we eat, it is important to also look at our beverage choices to identify if and how they are supporting our overall health. Big Berkeys are known for what they keep in the water, what they remove from the water, and how little these filtration systems impact the environment. 

————————————————-

Growing up my Mom was always a little nutty about our water quality. It seemed excessive to me that every week my parents would drive to a water filtration store just to restock our bottled water supply.

Fast forward some years later and now it is my husband who is on water patrol for the family. First their was the Brita system that ate up valuable real-estate in my fridge, and then there was the water cooler that cost a ridiculous amount of money to refill. We were trying to reduce our waste by using these bulk water systems, when in all reality we were adding quite a bit of plastic to landfills.

I threw in the towel at that point and started drinking tap water.

However, one night as I poked fun at my husband for going to great lengths to drink filtered water, he asked why I take a probiotic, drink bone broth and kombucha, focus on stress management and eat organ meat. Gut health, duh. He then asked if I think I can maintain healthy gut flora if frequently consuming chlorine, fluoride, and arsenic.

Oh. I guess he had me there.

I didn’t want to return to the previous two water filtration systems that we used, so I did an extensive bit of research to find a new system. I was looking for something that would clean the gross stuff out of water, leave vital minerals in the water, and reduce the amount of waste we were producing in the process.

One name kept coming up over and over again through my research – Big Berkey.

And now as a proud Big Berkey owner I completely understand why!

When the package arrived and I opened everything up, I was impressed by the simplicity of the supplies. The entire system was lightweight and no-fuss, we had ours set-up on our counter within minutes. The container is made of stainless steel and doesn’t require electricity, making it completely portable no matter where life may take you.

After we filled our Berkey and waited for the water to filter through, we took a sampling and there was no flavor to the water whatsoever. With our two other systems there was always a weird flavor, especially with the Brita when we replaced the filter.

PaleoParents-BigBerkeyReview

So why is this bad boy superior? Through reverse osmosis, Berkey Water Filtration Systems remove toxins, bacteria and chemicals, all while leaving in the minerals. The filters are so effective that they remove herbicides, pesticides, nitrates, nitrites, food coloring, lead mercury – ok, I am pretty sure the list is endless and that it can remove every harmful item commonly found in the water we drink.

To top off the awesome, the filters will last through 6,000 gallons of water. I could practically hear the landfills cheering in the distance as we fell head over heels in love with our Berkey!

PaleoParents - BigBerkeyReview2

On the Big Berkey Water Filters site you will find information on the seven different systems they offer and how to tell which size is best for you and your family.

We have the ‘Royal Berkey’ and are finding that it works perfectly for our family size and my need for crazy amounts of water.

Obviously you are probably thinking that you want a Berkey in your life, right?

Well now is your chance to win one!

BIG BERKEY GIVEAWAY

Our giveaway includes:

To enter:

Remember Matt’s rules of giveaways:

  1. Please use a valid email address when entering. I cannot use my dowsing rods to attempt to find which bytes form your contact address!
  2. Please follow all the rules so I don’t get frustrated by invalid entries. Nothing makes more of a sad panda than picking a winner who I have to disqualify.
  3. Please respond within 48 hours or I will have to pick a new winner! I have a certain set of skills that make me a nightmare to people who don’t respond: the ability to randomly draw again.
  4. Please be a US resident. My mana is too low to cast a Teleportation Spell!

Giveaway will end on Monday, July 1 at midnight – winner to be announced on Tuesday, July 2.

You Might Also Like

  • Chauca English
    June 25, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    I liked Berkey on facebook.

  • Chansmith11
    June 25, 2013 at 11:31 AM

    I like Big Berkey on facebook. I follow paleo parents on Instagram and Facebook.

  • Deeanna
    June 25, 2013 at 11:32 AM

    I liked paleo parent on Facebook annaeed at hotmail dot com

  • Deeanna
    June 25, 2013 at 11:33 AM

    I liked Berley on Facebook

  • Monique C. M.
    June 25, 2013 at 11:47 AM

    I like you on Facebook

  • Monique C. M.
    June 25, 2013 at 11:47 AM

    I like Paleo Parents on Facebook

    • Monique c. M.
      June 25, 2013 at 11:48 AM

      Duh, I mean I like Berkey water filters on Facebook. My bad!

  • Catherine Griffice
    June 25, 2013 at 11:52 AM

    I covet and really, really like Berkey Water Filters especially for camping. I follow on Facebook.

  • Kirstin
    June 25, 2013 at 11:57 AM

    I follow you on Facebook! And liked Berkey on FB!

  • Kristin Kerns
    June 25, 2013 at 12:02 PM

    I follow you on Facebook! Would love a Berkey!

  • Erin
    June 25, 2013 at 12:08 PM

    I liked Berkey on FB

  • Erin
    June 25, 2013 at 12:08 PM

    I follow you on FB, Twitter & Pinterest.

  • Rennie
    June 25, 2013 at 12:19 PM

    I liked Berkey on FB and follow Paleo Parents on FB.

  • Jen
    June 25, 2013 at 12:28 PM

    I liked the Big Berkey Facebook page.

  • Jen
    June 25, 2013 at 12:28 PM

    I follow you on Facebook

  • Christena Syme
    June 25, 2013 at 12:30 PM

    Liked Berkey page, and follow you on facebook.

  • Stefani
    June 25, 2013 at 12:37 PM

    I like Big Berkey on Facebook.

  • Stefani
    June 25, 2013 at 12:37 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Facebook.

  • Karla Traxel
    June 25, 2013 at 12:38 PM

    I like the Big Berkey Water Filters Facebook page! karlatrx at gmail dot com

  • Karla Traxel
    June 25, 2013 at 12:38 PM

    I like Paleo Parents on FB

  • Samantha Connour
    June 25, 2013 at 12:40 PM

    Liked berkey on fb!

  • Samantha Connour
    June 25, 2013 at 12:42 PM

    Follow you guys on instagram and fb!

  • Brittney
    June 25, 2013 at 12:48 PM

    I liked Berkey on Facebook!

  • jen
    June 25, 2013 at 12:50 PM

    Liked Berkey’s FB page.

  • jen
    June 25, 2013 at 12:50 PM

    Like PP on FB.

  • jen
    June 25, 2013 at 12:50 PM

    Follow PP on Pinterest.

  • Brittney
    June 25, 2013 at 12:50 PM

    I follow you guys on Facebook, Instagram,Twitter and Pinterest! I listen to The Paleo View through Stitcher so I’m unable to leave a review in Itunes but I LOVE the podcast!!

  • jen
    June 25, 2013 at 12:50 PM

    Follow PP on Twitter

  • jen
    June 25, 2013 at 12:53 PM

    Finally left you guys a review on iTunes. Should have done that long ago. The show is awesome.

  • Jamie Martin
    June 25, 2013 at 12:55 PM

    I follow on FB and Pinterest and I liked the Berkey page

  • Alysia Caringi
    June 25, 2013 at 12:57 PM

    liked berkey on facebook!

  • Alysia Caringi
    June 25, 2013 at 12:57 PM

    I follow you on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram!

  • Carla
    June 25, 2013 at 1:00 PM

    Follow on Facebook!

  • Kelly
    June 25, 2013 at 1:00 PM

    I liked Berkey on FB.

  • Carla
    June 25, 2013 at 1:00 PM

    Liked Big Berkey on Facebook!

  • Kelly
    June 25, 2013 at 1:01 PM

    I follow PP on all social networks!

  • Kelly
    June 25, 2013 at 1:01 PM

    I left a review a few months ago on itunes for Paleo View.

  • Diane
    June 25, 2013 at 1:11 PM

    I follow you on facebook and I liked Berkey’s facebook page!

  • noosh.
    June 25, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    i liked big berkey on fb

  • noosh.
    June 25, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    i follow you on pinterest and facebook

  • jessica kenney
    June 25, 2013 at 1:59 PM

    I follow you on FB. And Pinterest!

  • jessica kenney
    June 25, 2013 at 1:59 PM

    I follow Big Berkey on FB.

  • Tammy Powell Wittig
    June 25, 2013 at 2:12 PM

    I liked the Big Berkey Water Filters Facebook page!

  • Tammy Powell Wittig
    June 25, 2013 at 2:13 PM

    I follow you on Facebook!

  • Tammy Powell Wittig
    June 25, 2013 at 2:14 PM

    I follow you on twitter!

  • Tammy Powell Wittig
    June 25, 2013 at 2:14 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest!

  • Kristina Lovell
    June 25, 2013 at 2:29 PM

    I “liked” Big Berkey on Facebook.

  • Kristina Lovell
    June 25, 2013 at 2:30 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest. 🙂

  • Cindy B
    June 25, 2013 at 2:34 PM

    I follow you on facebook and I like Berkey on Facebook and I follow you on Pinterest too!

  • Evelyn R
    June 25, 2013 at 2:54 PM

    I “liked” Big Berkey on Facebook.

  • Evelyn R
    June 25, 2013 at 2:54 PM

    I follow you on Facebook

  • Heather J
    June 25, 2013 at 3:42 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

  • Heather J
    June 25, 2013 at 3:42 PM

    And I’ve liked Berkey on FB. Great giveaway!

  • Vanessa
    June 25, 2013 at 4:01 PM

    I “liked” Big Berkey.

  • Vanessa
    June 25, 2013 at 4:02 PM

    I follow you on FB.

  • LB
    June 25, 2013 at 4:48 PM

    I follow you on Fb and Pinterest.

  • Emily R
    June 25, 2013 at 4:49 PM

    I follow you on Facebook and Pinterest!

  • Emily R
    June 25, 2013 at 4:49 PM

    I “liked” big Berkey on Facebook!

  • Corey R.
    June 25, 2013 at 5:45 PM

    I like the Big Berkley page & I follow you on Facebook

  • Corey R.
    June 25, 2013 at 5:48 PM

    Not sure if I was supposed to do two separate comments. I like the Big Berkley page and I follow you on Facebook.

  • Erica_C
    June 25, 2013 at 6:22 PM

    I follow Big Berkey and you on FB!

  • Annemarie
    June 25, 2013 at 6:25 PM

    I liked BB and follow you on FB! Thanks for such an awesome giveaway- fingers crossed!

  • Aryn Dawn Toews
    June 25, 2013 at 6:32 PM

    I follow you on Facebook and liked Berkey on FB too! I’ve wanted one of these since I discovered them 🙂

    • Aryn Dawn Toews
      June 25, 2013 at 6:36 PM

      Oh never mind, not a US citizen 🙁

  • Amber Nelson
    June 25, 2013 at 6:39 PM

    I just subscribed! I liked Big Burkey on facebook and follow you on facebook 🙂 Soooo hope I win this one. I could REALLY use it for my family!

  • Reyna
    June 25, 2013 at 6:41 PM

    I follow you and would love a berkey water filter !! 🙂

  • Reyna
    June 25, 2013 at 6:43 PM

    I follow and like you on Facebook!! I am going to check out the Paleo View right now too!

  • RobandMadny Riddle
    June 25, 2013 at 6:51 PM

    I liked BB and I’ve liked you on FB too

  • Mary Beth
    June 25, 2013 at 6:58 PM

    I liked Berkey on Facebook! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  • Barb
    June 25, 2013 at 6:58 PM

    I like the Big Berkey Water Filters Facebook page.

  • Barb
    June 25, 2013 at 6:59 PM

    I follow you on Twitter. @AvFanBarb

  • Jackie
    June 25, 2013 at 7:00 PM

    I like the Big Berkey Water Filters FB page!

  • Jackie
    June 25, 2013 at 7:01 PM

    I follow you on FB !

  • sandra lee
    June 25, 2013 at 7:04 PM

    i liked Big Berkey’s FB page.

  • sandra lee
    June 25, 2013 at 7:04 PM

    i follow u on FB.

  • Judith Paskowitz
    June 25, 2013 at 7:15 PM

    I just “liked” the Big Berkey page on FB, where I follow you as well… So funny that this should show up right now when we are in the market for a new water filtration system! 🙂

  • Stephanie Marcantonio Slimmer
    June 25, 2013 at 7:34 PM

    I’m the momma of four beautiful girls…as a family we are learning to make healthy choices. We have radically changed our eating habits by going organic and choosing foods that are not genetically altered. Our children’s beloved grandfather was recently diagnosed with cancer in several organs…we want to live for him as examples I have liked Berkey and Paleo Parents. We are hoping to win the Beautiful Burkey for our Beautiful Family. Thank you for this giveaway. =)

  • JB
    June 25, 2013 at 7:42 PM

    I just liked Big Berkey.

  • JB
    June 25, 2013 at 7:43 PM

    I follow you on facebook and pintrest

  • Eileen @ Phoenix Helix
    June 25, 2013 at 8:06 PM

    I follow you through RSS and just left a review on iTunes.

  • Erica @ Jolly Green Mommy
    June 25, 2013 at 8:17 PM

    I liked Berkey on Facebbook.

  • Erica @ Jolly Green Mommy
    June 25, 2013 at 8:17 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

  • Rachael Adams
    June 25, 2013 at 8:48 PM

    Liked Berkey on fb!

  • Rachael Adams
    June 25, 2013 at 8:48 PM

    I of course follow all your social media 🙂

  • lace1
    June 25, 2013 at 8:53 PM

    I like their facebook page!

  • lace1
    June 25, 2013 at 8:54 PM

    I’m now following you on twitter: @fingerscrossed

  • Megan
    June 25, 2013 at 8:55 PM

    I like the Big Berkey facebook page!

  • Megan
    June 25, 2013 at 8:55 PM

    I follow you on Facebook

  • MariaMuscarella
    June 25, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    Love Berkey water filters! We use to have one and gave it to a friend who was living off the grid without water. How I miss it! Liked Berkey on FB!

  • MariaMuscarella
    June 25, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    Also, following you on FB and Pinterest!

  • Emily r
    June 25, 2013 at 9:24 PM

    Left a comment on your podcast!!! You guys are awesome!

  • Kathe
    June 25, 2013 at 9:56 PM

    Always wondered about these – such a great filter!

  • Karissa Matthews Wolfe
    June 25, 2013 at 11:42 PM

    I follow Big Berkey on Facebook and I have been drooling over their filter systems for a while now.

  • Karissa Matthews Wolfe
    June 25, 2013 at 11:43 PM

    I follow you on Facebook. thanks for the giveaway!

  • Amber Pace
    June 26, 2013 at 12:13 AM

    I follow Berkey on facebook and that’s how I found this. I now follow Paleo parent on facebook and pinterest. AWESOMENESS!!!

  • Julia Caruso
    June 26, 2013 at 1:21 AM

    I liked Big Berkey on Facebook.

  • Julia Caruso
    June 26, 2013 at 1:22 AM

    I follow you on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, aaaand Instagram.

  • Susie Legg
    June 26, 2013 at 5:51 AM

    Follow you on Facebook and yes we like Berkey water filtration on facebook too! Thanks for opportunity!

  • Linda Garcia
    June 26, 2013 at 8:19 AM

    I follow Big Berkey on Facebook and I have wanted one FOREVER! Also follow you on twitter and liked you on Facebook. Also checked out The Paleo View. Got my fingers crossed!

  • Jeannette Olton
    June 26, 2013 at 9:03 AM

    I like the Big Berkey water filter facebook page.

  • Jeannette Olton
    June 26, 2013 at 9:04 AM

    I follow you on Facebook.

  • Michelle
    June 26, 2013 at 10:36 AM

    I liked Berkey on FB

  • Michelle
    June 26, 2013 at 10:37 AM

    I follow you on FB and Twitter!

  • tiptoeskst
    June 26, 2013 at 10:40 AM

    I liked the Berkey FB page!

  • tiptoeskst
    June 26, 2013 at 10:40 AM

    I follow on FB and Pinterest. Probably Twitter too.

  • Rhonda R.
    June 26, 2013 at 10:52 AM

    I liked Berkey on Facebook!

  • Rhonda R.
    June 26, 2013 at 10:53 AM

    I enjoy following you on Facebook!

  • Michelle Candelario Newman
    June 26, 2013 at 11:03 AM

    I follow you on facebook

  • Steam Punk
    June 26, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    follow you on FB, And liked and commented on Berkey and you guys on FB

  • Susan Roragen
    June 26, 2013 at 11:40 AM

    I liked Berkey on fb under SJ Roragen

  • Susan Roragen
    June 26, 2013 at 11:41 AM

    I follow Paleo Parents on fb under SJ Roragen

  • Lisa P.
    June 26, 2013 at 12:17 PM

    I liked Big Berkey Water Filters facebook page.

  • S. Harris
    June 26, 2013 at 12:22 PM

    I like the Big Berkey facebook page!

  • S. Harris
    June 26, 2013 at 12:24 PM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pintrest!

  • Elizabeth Stutz
    June 26, 2013 at 12:25 PM

    I follow Berkey on Facebook and left a comment

  • Michaela Ahern
    June 26, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    I follow you on Facebook (and am excited to get Beyond the Bacon next week!!!) and have heard really great things about these filters.

  • Michaela Ahern
    June 26, 2013 at 12:35 PM

    I also liked Berkey on Facebook.

  • Allison G.
    June 26, 2013 at 1:53 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest.

  • Stephanie KL
    June 26, 2013 at 1:56 PM

    I’ve liked Big Berkey for a while now.

  • Stephanie KL
    June 26, 2013 at 1:57 PM

    I constantly follow you on Facebook enjoying your articles and recipes. I’ve put your book, “Beyond Bacon” on my Christmas list.

  • Leann L
    June 26, 2013 at 2:03 PM

    I like the Big Berkey Water Filters Facebook page.

  • Leann L
    June 26, 2013 at 2:04 PM

    Follow you via twitter @barkersmomma.

  • glutenfreeeasily
    June 26, 2013 at 3:53 PM

    I liked Berkey’s FB page.

  • glutenfreeeasily
    June 26, 2013 at 3:53 PM

    I follow you on FB.

  • glutenfreeeasily
    June 26, 2013 at 3:54 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest.

  • glutenfreeeasily
    June 26, 2013 at 3:54 PM

    I follow on Twitter.

  • Ambere Hartman
    June 26, 2013 at 9:41 PM

    I liked Berkey on facebook!

  • Ambere Hartman
    June 26, 2013 at 9:41 PM

    I follow you on facebook and pintrist!

  • Brandae
    June 26, 2013 at 9:55 PM

    Follow you on FB.

  • Brandae
    June 26, 2013 at 9:56 PM

    Liked Berkey on FB…thanks!

  • Tanya
    June 27, 2013 at 12:17 AM

    liked on facebook

  • Melissa Walls Clark
    June 27, 2013 at 1:11 AM

    I follow you on Facebook.

  • Genevieve E
    June 27, 2013 at 7:46 AM

    I liked Berkey on FB!

  • Genevieve E
    June 27, 2013 at 7:46 AM

    I follow you on FB!

  • Kathy Craddock
    June 27, 2013 at 11:36 AM

    I liked Berkey on Facebook!

  • Kathy Craddock
    June 27, 2013 at 11:38 AM

    I follow on Twitter and Facebook.

  • Becky M
    June 27, 2013 at 12:24 PM

    I follow on Facebook, and liked the Big Berkey page.

  • Ben
    June 27, 2013 at 12:31 PM

    I have a crown berkey and this product is so awesome!

  • LJ
    June 27, 2013 at 12:43 PM

    yay water filters!

  • Karen D
    June 27, 2013 at 2:26 PM

    Karen Goodwin Delaney likes Big Berkey on FB

  • Karen D
    June 27, 2013 at 2:27 PM

    Karen Goodwin Delaney likes Paleo Parents on FB

  • Karen D
    June 27, 2013 at 2:27 PM

    @KDFF follows Stacy (PaleoParents) on Twitter

  • Karen D
    June 27, 2013 at 2:34 PM

    karengdel follows Stacy of Paleo Parents on Pinterest

  • Karen D
    June 27, 2013 at 2:36 PM

    Karen Delaney subscribes to paleoparents on YouTube

  • Laurel k
    June 27, 2013 at 8:04 PM

    Follow PP on FB

  • Laurel k
    June 27, 2013 at 8:05 PM

    Liked Berkey on FB

  • Brooke
    June 27, 2013 at 8:40 PM

    I follow you on Facebook.

  • Brooke
    June 27, 2013 at 8:42 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest.

  • Barbara Baird
    June 27, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    Liked Big Berkey on Facebook

  • Barbara Baird
    June 27, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    I follow you on Facebook

  • Barbara Baird
    June 27, 2013 at 9:07 PM

    Submitted a review in iTunes

  • Kate @eatrecyclerepeat
    June 28, 2013 at 6:13 AM

    follow on facebook!

  • ginawalker
    June 28, 2013 at 5:23 PM

    Left a comment on the Big Berkey facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/BigBerkeyWaterFilters/posts/10151759743513653

  • ginawalker
    June 28, 2013 at 5:23 PM

    I follow you guys on Facebook!

  • Laurel k
    June 29, 2013 at 10:01 AM

    I follow PP on Instagram.

  • Richard Craddock
    June 29, 2013 at 10:33 PM

    I follow on FB and stalk the Berkey page!

  • Celina
    June 29, 2013 at 11:46 PM

    I liked Berkey on Facebook!

  • Celina
    June 29, 2013 at 11:46 PM

    I follow you on Facebook!

  • Robin Juarez
    June 30, 2013 at 1:25 AM

    I follow you on Facebook!!!

  • Lynn Damewood
    June 30, 2013 at 10:11 AM

    I follow you on Twitter

  • Lynn Damewood
    June 30, 2013 at 10:12 AM

    I left a review on Itunes

  • Lynn Damewood
    June 30, 2013 at 10:12 AM

    I like Big Berkey on FB

  • Meaghan
    June 30, 2013 at 7:00 PM

    I follow you on Facebook and liked berkey on FB, and left you a review on iTunes.!

Switch to safer skincare with Stacy Toth and save 20%!Use the code CLEANFORALL20