Uncategorized

30 Day Guide and Elana’s Paleo Cooking Review

Don’t miss the GIVEAWAY of each of these great new books from these bestselling authors at the end of this post!

I am in awe of the talent of our community. Ancestral health has grown to be such a powerful, willful movement over the past 3+ years we’ve been following it – and it just continues to grow. The power of success stories propels people to give things a try, despite how difficult and overwhelming it often seems at first.

But the good news is, there are now more tools than ever to help people on that path of health and wellness through nutrient dense and healing foods and this week TWO new tools from two of my favorites in the community are being added to the great line-up of amazing available books (plus only 16 more days until Beyond Bacon releases!). Here’s our take on Primal Palate’s The 30 Day Guide to Paleo Cooking and Paleo Cooking from Elana’s Pantry by Elana Amsterdam.

30 Day Paleo Cooking Review by PaleoParents

Paleo Cooking from Elana’s Pantry

We love Elana, and if you don’t know that you haven’t been paying attention. She graciously wrote the Foreword to Eat Like a Dinosaur because she was the go-to source for our family’s transitional treats when we first removed grains, legumes, dairy and refined sugars from our diet. We have, love and use her first two books regularly, The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook and Gluten-Free Cupcakes.

Elanas Paleo Cooking by PaleoParents

If you, like us, have her first books you will love this one too. It is very similar in style and size. The photos that are included are delectable and there’s lots of great ideas.  An even bigger bonus, Elana did not include nightshades in this book! So, if you’re on a modified or full autoimmune paleo protocol this is a great book with savory ideas (sorry, the sweets are mostly nut-flour based) that will help you to feel less tortured by your seeming lack of choices.

Elanas Paleo Cooking Review by PaleoParents

One special Sunday morning when my mom was visiting, we decided to have an indulgent breakfast with the boys and test out a recipe from each book. When we shared the book with the kids they immediately picked out the Blueberry Coffee Cake – they’re no dummies… cake for breakfast! If you listened to our Mother’s Day Bonus Show Podcast you already know this, but my mom is mostly primal. When she saw this gorgeous cake come out to the table I literally heard her squeal. And it didn’t disappoint; as usual, Elana nailed this recipe! It held together beautifully and had a perfect flavor profile to highlight the blueberries. Just check out this day-after photo I took while noshing on it in the car on the way to work the next day!

The 30 Day Guide to Paleo Cooking

But, one cannot have only cake for breakfast, my friends. As my kids will tell you, you need to eat a protein! So, given that The 30 Day Guide is chock full of clean-eating paleo recipes, we knew we’d find a good one in there. And we did! The boys picked out a souffle-like Egg Custards recipe that involved some of their favorite ingredients: mushrooms & bacon! Of course if your kids don’t like mushrooms you could substitute any vegetables, but don’t skimp on an opportunity to get veggies into eggs. Kids need the calcium, vitamins and minerals that vegetables offer and mine love them paired with eggs in the morning!

30 Day Guide to Paleo Cooking Review by PaleoParents

What we realized when looking through for the recipe, however, was that this is much more than a recipe book! It really is a guide to get someone kick-started with Paleo. The book includes some very powerful success stories as well as 3 parts: What is the Paleo Diet, 30 Day Meal Plan (with shopping lists) and a plethora of new Recipes. Where Practical Paleo is a comprehensive guide to the why of the ancestral lifestyle, The 30 Day Guide to Paleo Cooking is just as comprehensive a guide to the how. Of course, the little Egg Custards thrilled the boys who love to eat out of their own special dishes. Everyone’s little ramekins were licked clean before moving on to Elana’s cake. Given my experience taste testing Bill & Hayley’s food, I’m confident in saying that I think you’ll find all of these recipes trustworthy.

30 Day Paleo Review by PaleoParents

I see this book being a great resource for the person in your life that just has never ending excuses about why they can’t implement paleo in their lifestyle. Perfect for the “I don’t know how to cook” or “I don’t have time” people in your lives, it’s an un-intimidating size with tips and tricks to really help people succeed (if they have any remote interest in trying – remember, you can’t force anyone to do anything!). It’s also a great resource for those who need to really focus on good, clean paleo foods for a little while. You won’t find any tempting paleo treats in this one!

The Giveaway!

We enjoyed these books so much, by authors we’re privileged to call friends, that we’re giving away a copy of each to 1 lucky winner. Since 30 Day Guide is available at Costco and both books have a relatively low price-point on Amazon we’re hoping you now have the information you may have been looking for before buying them yourself. But, for those of you not able to make that purchase but wanting the books nontheless, here’s how to enter:

And remember Matt’s rules of giveaways!

  1. Please use a valid email address when entering. I cannot use my dowsing rods to attempt to find which bytes form your contact address!
  2. Please follow all the rules so I don’t get frustrated by invalid entries. Nothing makes more of a sad panda than picking a winner who I have to disqualify.
  3. Please respond within 48 hours or I will have to pick a new winner! I have a certain set of skills that make me a nightmare to people who don’t respond: the ability to randomly draw again.
  4. Please be a US resident. My mana is too low to cast a Teleportation Spell!

Giveaway will end on Wednesday, June 19th at midnight. Good luck!

 

You Might Also Like

  • snm1883
    June 17, 2013 at 10:38 AM

    I am very interested in Paleo Cooking from Elana’s Pantry. I have been looking for some delicious baked goods recipes that will let me use all the good stuff I am getting at my local farmer’s market.

  • snm1883
    June 17, 2013 at 10:39 AM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest!

  • Kristin
    June 17, 2013 at 10:42 AM

    I would love both, of course, but as I already have Elana Amsterdam’s The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook, I would love to also try The 30-Day Guide. I love both of their Websites, and would be super excited about their cookbooks! Thanks for offering these. 🙂

  • Sara Grambusch
    June 17, 2013 at 10:43 AM

    Liked both their pages. I’m equally excited for both. 🙂 I just need new recipes!

  • Rebecca Stein-Mindel
    June 17, 2013 at 10:43 AM

    I have liked both pages-and I’d most like to read the 30 day guide. We are just learning about paleo and trying to follow this lifestyle but have yet to get a book. This would be awesome way to get us started on the right track! My husband and I have lost 200lbs together in the last year and and are re-evaulating what really is in that and what really should we be eating!

  • Sara Grambusch
    June 17, 2013 at 10:44 AM

    I follow you guys everywhere. 🙂

  • Dana
    June 17, 2013 at 10:53 AM

    Have Like BOTH pages for a long while -am waiting with bated breath for my copy of Elana’s cookbook to arrive!!! Pre-ordered… the wait has been grueling. 😉

  • Patricia Brooks
    June 17, 2013 at 11:00 AM

    follow you on Facebook.

  • Jamie
    June 17, 2013 at 11:02 AM

    Tough decision! I am excited about most, but have known of Elana’s Pantry the longest:) I have been following both pages for a while!

  • Jamie
    June 17, 2013 at 11:03 AM

    I follow you on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest 😀

  • Jennifer
    June 17, 2013 at 11:04 AM

    I am definitely interested in the 30 day guide. I like books that tell me HOW to do things, and if this helps me get (or stay) on track – I’m a fan already! (That blueberry coffee cake does look delicious though…)

  • Jennifer
    June 17, 2013 at 11:05 AM

    I’ve been following you guys on Facebook for awhile 🙂

  • Patricia Brooks
    June 17, 2013 at 11:05 AM

    I have liked your page for quite sometime now and have just discovered Elana’s Pantry & liked it. I would really like the 30 Day Guide to Paleo Cooking for it also being a resource to implementing the paleo way into your lifestyle. I was recently diagnosed with severe wheat, corn, and other grain allergies and am trying to discover new & better ways of cooking/eating.

  • rebecca
    June 17, 2013 at 11:10 AM

    I am really interested in Paleo Cooking from Elana’s Pantry Book. I bought the 30 day guide from Costco last week. And I liked both pages!

  • rebecca
    June 17, 2013 at 11:10 AM

    I like you on facebook and pinterest.

  • Casey
    June 17, 2013 at 11:19 AM

    I liked you guys (of course!), Elana’s Pantry and Primal Palate. I have Bill & Haley’s first book, and loved it. But because of that, I think I most excited about Elana’s Pantry! I LOVE to back (more than cook), so I think it would be a great book to have in my stash.

  • Stephanie KL
    June 17, 2013 at 11:30 AM

    I’ve “Liked” you on Facebook for a while and am still enjoying.

  • Wendy Harris Butler
    June 17, 2013 at 11:33 AM

    I was already a fan of both pages, but am most excited about 30 Day Guide to Paleo Cooking. Anything with hints on how to make all the prep and cooking easier is for me!!

  • Wendy Harris Butler
    June 17, 2013 at 11:34 AM

    I follow you guys on Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest!

  • bella_belcheva
    June 17, 2013 at 11:37 AM

    love to get my hands on Elana’s pantry I love to make her recipes

  • Stephanie KL
    June 17, 2013 at 11:39 AM

    I continually like BOTH pages. I’m looking forward to both books for different reasons. Bill and Haley’s 30 Day Guide will most likely be the first used since I’m planning to do a Whole30 in July. Then I’ll sample Elana’s creations but that doesn’t mean I won’t drool while looking through the book. I have relied on their recipes before and have never been disappointed.

  • Nicole
    June 17, 2013 at 11:40 AM

    Good morning:). I am most excited about Paleo Cooking from Elana’s Pantry. I love her recipes and previous cookbooks!

  • Nicole
    June 17, 2013 at 11:40 AM

    I follow you on Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest!

  • Wendy Harris Butler
    June 17, 2013 at 11:42 AM

    Left a review for the podcast! I am always waiting for my new episode to upload! You girls are so helpful, funny, sincere and inspirational! Keep it up!

  • Deeanna
    June 17, 2013 at 11:44 AM

    I am new to Paleo so I’m excited most about the The 30 Day Guide to paelo.

  • Deeanna
    June 17, 2013 at 11:45 AM

    I liked both pages on Facebook.annaeed at hotmail dot com

  • Eating 4 Balance
    June 17, 2013 at 11:57 AM

    Already liked you on Facebook 🙂

  • Eating 4 Balance
    June 17, 2013 at 11:59 AM

    Most excited for Elana’s book. Her blog and dessert recipes are awesome! I’m looking at some of her cakes right now for inspiration for my mom’s birthday coming up. If only they were egg-free (okay, free of about a gazillion things that I can’t have), because they all look delicious 🙂

  • Ashleigh
    June 17, 2013 at 12:26 PM

    I’m really excited for Elana’s book! I miss my desserts! I follow you guys on Twitter!

  • Erin
    June 17, 2013 at 12:31 PM

    I’m new to Paleo so both books look amazing. I think Elana’s would be my new favorite 🙂

  • Tara S
    June 17, 2013 at 1:13 PM

    I’m really looking forward to reading Elana’s Pantry. I have the 30 Day Guide (I think that’s the one) as an eBook but I’d love a hard copy as well…I’m not very good at going back to my eBooks. :-/

  • Tara S
    June 17, 2013 at 1:14 PM

    I follow you on ALL of the social media.

  • Jennifer Bates
    June 17, 2013 at 1:22 PM

    I think I’m most excited about the 30 day guide. I heard it described by Diane maybe as what she cooks like on a most days. So that makes me think it would be good for everyday, after work, food on the table cookbook. And who doesn’t love that?

  • Jennifer Bates
    June 17, 2013 at 1:23 PM

    I follow you everywhere, but lets be honest, I who uses twitter anymore? I love your instagram feed though. So fun seeing your cute little guys and yummy looking food. 😉

  • navoff
    June 17, 2013 at 1:46 PM

    Nothing like giving us a hard choice. I love both authors and have some of their previous books (Make it Paleo, Gather and Gluten-Free Cupcakes: 50 Irresistible Recipes Made with Almond and Coconut Flour). I have been following both on Facebook.

  • navoff
    June 17, 2013 at 1:50 PM

    I’ve been a long time follower of you on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest (having dived into the Instagram thing yet).

  • Carrie J.
    June 17, 2013 at 1:52 PM

    I’m most excited about the 30 Day Guide, can’t wait to check out the meal plans!

  • Carrie J.
    June 17, 2013 at 1:53 PM

    I follow you on FB, IG, and Pinterest!

  • Jon
    June 17, 2013 at 2:29 PM

    30 day Guide to Paleo Cooking to help me implement a change.

  • Jon
    June 17, 2013 at 2:30 PM

    I follow on Facebook!

  • Brittney
    June 17, 2013 at 2:42 PM

    I’m a fan of both pages already and amd really excited for the 30 day guide to Paleo! I like that it’s a more strict paleo cookbook with no treats so I won’t be tempted, I’ve had trouble completing a Whole30 so I know this book would help.

  • Brittney
    June 17, 2013 at 2:44 PM

    I follow you guys on all your social media and love your Instagram feed!

  • Amber
    June 17, 2013 at 3:11 PM

    As someone who is just getting hearing about thiswhole Paleo thing, I am most excited about the 30 Day guide to Paleo Cooking. I’m excited to start making life style changes to a better and healthier me. ( I also follow on twitter)

  • Tracy
    June 17, 2013 at 4:51 PM

    I follow you on FB.

  • Tracy
    June 17, 2013 at 4:53 PM

    Sorry if this is a repeat. Not sure the 1st one stuck. I am a fan of both pages. If I had to choose, I’d pick the 30 Day Guide. I need help with day to day meal planning. Thank you!

  • Anne-Marie Cain
    June 17, 2013 at 4:58 PM

    I like both pages on FB. I’m very excited to read Elana’s book for me….I’ve been Paleo/Primal for 2 years and have it down pretty well. I love, love, love all the recipes on her blog. But I’d be even more excited to give the 30 Day Guide to my mom, who I’ve been trying to get to change her eating habits, but she thinks is too much trouble. :-/ Maybe this would convince her!

  • Anne-Marie Cain
    June 17, 2013 at 4:58 PM

    I follow you on FB.

  • Melinda Howe
    June 17, 2013 at 7:42 PM

    I’ve liked both of the pages on facebook. I’m excited for both, but probably more excited for the “30 Day Guide” simply because it is made for beginners. I’ve just recently started on my paleo journey.

  • Melinda Howe
    June 17, 2013 at 7:43 PM

    I follow you on facebook. Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Amy Ayers
    June 18, 2013 at 10:25 AM

    I already follow both Primal Palate and Elana’a Pantry on Facebook. Which one am I most excited to read? While I can’t wait to get my hand on both, I’m really intrigued to read through Paleo Cooking from Elana’s Pantry. I feel pretty well established with my Paleo lifestyle, so I’m constantly looking for ways to incorporate more of it into the lives of my husband and 2 boys. School is ending in less than a week, and I think it would be a lot of fun to work through some of the book with them.

  • Amy Ayers
    June 18, 2013 at 10:26 AM

    I use TONS of social media. I’m following you on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest. You have such amazing stuff that you share every day. I absolutely adore the pictures you put up of your boys!

  • Hannah Johnson
    June 18, 2013 at 10:54 AM

    Fans of both pages! And I having been eyeing the 30 Day Guide to Paleo Cooking because I am still in the beginning stages of Paleo so I think it would be most helpful.

  • Hannah Johnson
    June 18, 2013 at 10:55 AM

    I follow you on Facebook and Pinterest!

  • Josh
    June 18, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    I like both pages and am most looking forward to Elana’s Pantry Book since cooking Paleo goodies is a bigger challenge for me than cooking most Paleo meals.

  • Josh
    June 18, 2013 at 11:36 AM

    I follow you on both Facebook and Twitter. Thanks for the continued great info and a great contest!

  • Lisa P
    June 18, 2013 at 11:48 AM

    I am a fan of both pages.

  • Lisa P
    June 18, 2013 at 11:50 AM

    I am most excited to read Elana’s book….I have her other books and use them all the time!

  • Hope
    June 18, 2013 at 12:08 PM

    I am most excited to check out Elana’s new cookbook as I have been following her blog for the past couple of years. She is the one who first gave me inspiration in eating grain free. Our family has to be grain free due to health issues with my son. We began with the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, then GAPS, and now Primal/Paleo~ we do a mixture of all of these! Elana led me to Kelly’s blog (Spunky) and Kelly led me to find you guys! YAY!
    Okay so the above is NOT going to win a cookbook! I love Bill & Haley’s style as well, they make eating Paleo HIP!
    I am addicted to Paleo cookbooks and am always recommending them to our local library, get the WORD OUT!
    Currently I only own Well Fed (awesomeness), ELAD (which I gratefully WON from you all! thank you, thank you again!), and Everyday Paleo. I would have more if the budget allowed.

  • Hope
    June 18, 2013 at 12:12 PM

    I am already a FAN on Facebook & Follow ya’ll on Pinterest.

  • Carol P
    June 18, 2013 at 12:28 PM

    I have Elana’s other 2 books and enjoy them so I would probably be the most excited about hers.

  • Carol P
    June 18, 2013 at 12:29 PM

    I liked both pages followed you on facebook.

  • CMM
    June 18, 2013 at 12:33 PM

    I’m super excited about Elana’s Pantry! I need a solid reference guide rather than scouring the internet for hours to find something tried and true!

  • Hope
    June 18, 2013 at 12:51 PM

    I finally figured out the iTunes! So I left a review on The Paleo View!

  • Alysia Caringi
    June 18, 2013 at 1:35 PM

    I’ve already liked both their pages! I think I’m more excited for 30 day Guide to Paleo Cooking…mostly because I’m not that experienced in the kitchen and I’ve heard most recipes are pretty easy and quick!

  • Brandae
    June 18, 2013 at 2:54 PM

    I’ve preordered Elana’s book already but would love to also win the 30 Day guide so that I can focus even more on nourishing, savory meals everyday. Liked both pages eons ago. 🙂

  • Brandae
    June 18, 2013 at 2:54 PM

    Follow you on Facebook!

  • Jaclyn
    June 18, 2013 at 3:10 PM

    Im really interested in the 30 Day Paleo guide for the weekly meal plans … with such a busy schedule (Teaching and Running my own home business) I dont always have time to make a meal plan and follow it.

  • Amanda M (@mommygorun)
    June 18, 2013 at 3:27 PM

    I’ve just followed on Pinterest, twitter and instagram, I’ll make my way over to facebook too.

    I left a review on iTunes for The Paleo View
    Keep up the great work!

  • Nikky R
    June 18, 2013 at 3:38 PM

    I am more excited for the 30 Days book because I’ve been looking into purchasing it for a longer period of time. I am new to Paleo, and am excited to rid myself of my addiction to grains and hopefully kick multiple health obstacles. Today I found out about Elana’s Paleo Cooking book, and am gaining excitement to try her recipes as well!

  • Shari
    June 18, 2013 at 7:28 PM

    I like both pages! I’m equally excited about these cookbooks. I’ve made many of Elana’s creations from her website but have not purchased her books. I’m definitely planning to get this one. But I also love the idea of the 30 Day Guide as I need more easy paleo recipes.

  • Shari
    June 18, 2013 at 7:29 PM

    I’m following you on Pinterest!

  • Elizabeth G.
    June 18, 2013 at 8:04 PM

    I’m excited about winning both! I like both on Facebook. Thanks for the chance!

  • Elizabeth G.
    June 18, 2013 at 8:04 PM

    I follow Paleo Parents on Instagram.

  • Ann Wilson
    June 18, 2013 at 11:11 PM

    I follow you on Facebook and Twitter.

  • Ann Wilson
    June 18, 2013 at 11:13 PM

    I’m most interested in Elana’s Book because I have a major sweet tooth! I can make my own savory recipes, but creating my own dessert/baking recipes is tough. I already like both pages.

  • Megan
    June 18, 2013 at 11:54 PM

    I like both pages, and I am most excited about The 30 Day Guide to Paleo Cooking.

  • Megan
    June 18, 2013 at 11:54 PM

    I follow you on facebook

  • april
    June 19, 2013 at 12:18 AM

    I like both pages, as always. 🙂 I’m most excited about the 30 Day Guide as I would love the recipes and tips for implementing paleo. I have been finding it difficult to keep up with.

  • april
    June 19, 2013 at 12:19 AM

    I follow you on facebook, twitter, and pinterest.

  • Bridget
    June 19, 2013 at 12:21 AM

    I am most interested in the 30 day guide to paleo cooking because I plan to do a whole 30 soon. I like both pages!

  • Bridget
    June 19, 2013 at 12:21 AM

    I follow you on facebook.

  • Kevin Pollack
    June 19, 2013 at 8:51 PM

    Excited more about the 30 Day Guide to Paleo Cooking. Looks like a great resource for families.

  • Kevin Pollack
    June 19, 2013 at 8:51 PM

    Follow you guys on FB and twitter

  • Sonja H
    June 19, 2013 at 10:00 PM

    I cant pick one book over the other. I would be excited to get either. I already like both on FB. Of course I follow you guys on FB and Pinterest. I am sure both books are amazing. Always looking for new receipes.

  • Käthe
    June 24, 2013 at 10:23 PM

    I’m on my first Whole30 with my three year old and a 30 day guide would be perfect! I’m pretty sure we’ll be eating this way forever, so both books would be well loved.

  • lisa
    September 19, 2013 at 9:04 AM

    it is a very nice article. Thank you very much.
    If you believe in Paleo Diet, pls check also http://paleo-dietbook.com/
    have fun.

  • Lori
    March 24, 2017 at 7:31 AM

    I know it’s been literally years since this was written, but thanks for the recommendations and links to your resources! Hoping to find the books at the library!